We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good budget accomodation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Urban Central to your Saves list
Urban Central
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   334 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good budget accomodation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My friend and I got a double room with private ensuite and it was well worth the money. It was a clean, spacious room with a clean, tidy bathroom complete with towels. We like our privacy so it was nice to have our own space. Very friendly staff and nice open kitchen/eating area to mingle with other visitors. Also the free breakfast (and free rice/pasta) is great bonus! Only complaint is that it is a bit farther out from most places and you have to walk a bit, but then again the transportation system in Melbourne really isn't the greatest.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    83
    37
    14
    20
See reviews for
9
39
68
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I stayed here for two weeks and firstly I have to say its not that central. About a 15 minute to the city. Overall though the hostel is great. Each floor has different things, TV, Games, book exchange and video lounge. Yes the videos are still the old VHS/VCR style which is a pain but I suppose they have a decent collections. Another criticism would be that there isn't enough seating in the tv and video lounge and I often found people sat on the ground.

There were nightly activities in the bar which was great and great happy hours. I really enjoyed starting my evening in the bar then heading to town. The staff in both the bar and reception were lovely and very friendly.

The kitchen also offered free tea, coffee, milk, sugar, pasta and rice. There was ample utensils for cooking and plenty of fridge space. Generally I don't like large hostels like this but for me this was a great place to stay. I booked through their website so got a special weekly rate which was brilliant. All the rooms are 4 bed and have large lockers with power points to accommodate all of you stuff. The rooms had aircon and it they were loud but we just opened the windows.

I would recommend urban central. A lot of people stay in St. Kilda's which is nice but most of the people I knew where staying in the city and it was much more convenient

Room Tip: Any of the rooms I thought were the same so I don't think it matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Room itself is o.k but the A/C is extremly noisy and with open windows you get all the noise from outside. The shared bathrooms are not clean and seem to have no ventilation (and of course no windows).Wouldn`t stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed in hostels all up the coast and this was by far the nicest! The hostel itself was big and spacious. They had vending machines every and personal lockers in rooms, our experience was safe and convenient!
We were originally supposed to stay in St. Kilda, we didn't like the area and were delighted to stay here within walking distance of the city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

The hostel is located pretty close to downtown melbourne, and is close to various sites as well as the huge casino - It is a bit far off from the beach though, so not the ideal for backpackers looking to relax by the beach.
The atmosphere was alright - wasn't a fan of the staff who weren't too friendly nor helpful - a lot of them didn't seem to have a clue.
Breakfast was chaotic and quite frankly, wasn't that good - so just skip it. As many people have pointed out, it does get noisy at night with all the bar goers and drinkers gathering outside to smoke and talk loudly..

wasn't a fan of this property, especially considering how little was offered. They didnt even provide free wifi access.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed in urban central for a week and a half, and have to say no problems with the place. It's a cheap place to stay, spotless clean, toilets and showers are great, dorms are big and spacious, big lockers in the room to store all your valuables, powerpoints in the locker(bring your own padlock),cheap booze at the bar, kitchen nice and big, on each floor they have different sections like one is tv one is movies another is the libarary. I did have one problem whilst I was staying there, there was no window in the room, it was pitch black and my roommate worked nights so when I was getting up he was sleeping, anyway cut a long story short he attacked me one morning cus I couldn't see a thing in the room and had to turn lights on. Went to reception to complain and they moved me to another room and I even got upgraded to one with an ensuite! Very helpful staff. That's all the good things. Bad things were only rooms with no windows were horrible and stayin on the first floor is a pain cus there is a nightclub separate to the hostel that is quite loud. Other than that 10/10

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Fantastic helpful staff, affordable accommodation. Plenty to do, and each floor has its own theme (movies on one floor, books on another etc...) Great bar, reasonably priced drinks, and although the party can continue well into the morning, rooms are sound proofed enough to sleep. Stayed here probably half a dozen times, and will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Urban Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Central

Address: 334 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Urban Central 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban Central is ideally located in Melbourne's vibrant Southbank adjacent to the famous Crown Casino. The city is a 10 minute walk and with public transport on our doorstep, St Kilda is only a 10 minute tram ride away. Shopping around Urban Central is located close to local cafes, shops and the famous South Melbourne Market. If you enjoy good coffee and eateries Southbank restaurants overlooking The Yarra River are 5 min stroll from Urban Central. On the way to visit Port Melbourne beach you could pick up a bargain at Direct Factory Outlet about a 10 minute from our accommodation venue. Stay, Play at Urban Central! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Urban Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Central Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.