We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Girls Night Accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aria Serviced Apartments Southbank

Save Saved
You added Aria Serviced Apartments Southbank to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aria Serviced Apartments Southbank
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   285 City Road | Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #459 of 912 Hotels in Victoria
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Girls Night Accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

3 of us girls needed a break and found it in our beautiful city of Melbourne in Plum Apartments. On line at $130 a night so decided to have an apartment each. At this price I was so happy to find they were great size single rooms, large bathroom, storage area, large dining, kitchen, full size fridge, (as we took nibbles and drinks), clean, location brilliant for Exhibition Sthbank buildings and all their expos, stone throw from Casino where we did Gold Class Village Cinemas, Southbank and the Ice Bar, South Melbourne Market, tram stop at your doorstep, and the biggest bonus parking on sight which was a mere $12. Cheap for city! We walked through most of the city and cab back to Plum from China Town was a simple $10 tops! Easy drive to Vic Markets the next day and home again. Great day, night and next day break!! Thanks Plum Apartments. Helpful staff and highly recommend. Small tip, coming out of Plum Apartments head towards the undercover carpark and catch lift to 1st floor which is part of Crown and you can walk through to Southbank under cover in air conditioning comfort.

Room Tip: We had three different rooms on all different levels and all 3 of us had a great view and no complai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    66
    34
    13
    11
See reviews for
47
28
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

These apartments are located very close to Crown Casino, South Wharf DFO and to the quirky coffee shops of South Melbourne. We attended the Comedy Festival. We caught a taxi ($9) into the city but walked home via Southbank.
The apartments are well appointed and have all that visitors need. They were light, bright and reasonably spacious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

It's about ten minutes walk from Flinders Street at the south side of Melbourne CBD to the Plum Apartments. An inconspicuous entrance from busy littered City Road takes you to a clean and tidy, if spartan, lobby. Here the friendly staff will offer a bag drop for early arrivals and late departures, or early check-in to a room if one is available.
Fast lifts give access to small lobby areas with a few rooms on each floor. The air conditioned apartment we had was spotlessly clean, well planned and equipped for self caterers and included a full size washer and dryer. The busy city motorway lies close by but triple glazing on the balcony door (few people will use the balcony, overlooked from other apartments and with the city din very evident) ensured that noise was limited.
There is a Coles supermarket and other handy shops and takeaways a few minutes walk down the road towards St Kilda. The excellent South Melbourne Market lies in the same direction.
If you want to pay with a non-Aussie plastic card - either debit or credit - you will be stung for the usual Aussie rip-off of 1.5% on top. Do note that unusually this applies to debit as well as credit cards here.

Room Tip: There's an all-night disco somewhere nearby - so ask for a room that faces away from that - the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford Rise, ADELAIDE
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here in March for a function at Crown Casino, just a short walk away. Very clean one bedroom apartment with small kitchen and a washing machine and dryer in the bathroom cupboard. Everything you needed, we were on level 34 so no road noise. It is on the SKYWAY bus shuttle drop off, very convienent.

There was a bad smell in the hallway when you got out the lifts, but that didn't drift into the apartment.

I was sorry that we didn't have more time to enjoy the room and veiw, will be staying here next time for sure!

Room Tip: Higher floors have fantastic veiws city side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights during Australian Tennis Open 2013. I stayed on the higher floors, 1 bedroom apartment with city view & extra space. Very close to Crown casino, 2 minutes walk. The only thing I don't like is the parking was very small & narrow. It only fits one car to drive up & park. Costs $12.00 per day.
There are 2 lifts in the apartment and one was broken over 6 months. Takes ages to wait for the lift.
No Gym or swimming pool. Average apartment.

Room Tip: Get higher floors with city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Lovely apartment and excellent value for Melbourne. My only grumble is the noise from the freeway so I needed ear plugs but we were given a two bed place to compensate so I cannot really complain. The bathroom fan could not be turned off which was noisy too. We were told it could be turned off but we tried several times and couldn't. We nearly got caught in a lift one day as it broke down so we had to walk down many flights of stairs to get out which wasn't the best. We stayed in several places over the 15 days we were away some costing a lot more than Plum yet these apartments would be one of my favorites faults and all.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in January for the Australian Open tennis. We have come every year for 5 years and always pick 1 bedroom apartments to stay in based on location and price. This was the best value for money 4+ star place we could find and it turned out to be better than expected. We were put next door in "The Bank Building" and our room was spacious and well equipped with a full kitchen, bathroom, laundry facilities etc. We were able to keep to ourselves and it was pretty quiet other than a tiny bit of road noise. The location was great, tram stop on the corner, Crown casino with tons of restaurants a 2 minute walk, and cafes and a supermarket a 5 minute walk. Close enough to walk to the tennis as well. Would stay here again next time and definitely recommend it to others. Anyone looking for apartment type accomodation near/in the city, check this place out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aria Serviced Apartments Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Serviced Apartments Southbank

Address: 285 City Road | Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #459 of 912 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aria Serviced Apartments Southbank 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aria Serviced Apartments in Southbank as of July 2014 is under new ownership. Aria offers 1, 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained apartments that are well appointed & affordable. All apartments are fully self-contained and equipped with oven, microwave, gas cooktop, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. Added features included FREE Wi-Fi Internet access, 24 hour Front Desk /Reception, Room Service and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Aria Serviced Apartments Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aria Serviced Apartments Southbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.