We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aria Serviced Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aria Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Aria Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   285 City Road | Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #458 of 913 Hotels in Victoria
1 review
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 12th - 16th Jan. location very good. Customer service to us was very good. The one bedroom apartment was clean except for the oven trays which cleaners missed. We had a city view side apartment and enjoyed sitting on balcony as the city noise didnt worry us. I was able to park the car in the secure carpark but check if you have a large vehicle as it would be a tight squeeze. Cleaning services are minimal over weekends so we took our rubbish to the waste room and collected clean towels from reception without any problem. Only one lift has been working since Christmas but not Plums fault as staff have continually phoned service company to repair. If you enjoy walking to see the area this is a good place to stay. We strolled to DFO Docklands, walked to CBD and to art gallery another day taking different routes. We went to dinner at Casino one night food and service was terrible however I recommend if you are in CBD to eat at a tiny restaurant called Golden Orchids in Little Bourke St which is fabulous. Will definitely stay at Plum again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    66
    36
    13
    11
See reviews for
48
30
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The apartments were conveniently located, though the customer service was appalling.

The traffic lights in the one way car park weren't working and were unsafe.
The lift closed and had my 7 week old baby and mother stuck without a key to be able to get back to our floor or room.

Our bed was two singles pushed together and the floors were dirty.
The servicing consisted of staff changing some towels and taking the rubbish out. On arrival we had to wait after check in time for our room and on leaving we were charged an extra night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed here from the 26th-1st,
It was awesome and very comfortable


I recently just visited in a 1 bedroom apartment for 2 people, very spacious and relaxing, the apartments were right near everything..
only a couple of blocks away from crown casinos, south warf, DFO docklands wasn't very far away at all..although the reception staff said we could walk there when we took a taxi it seemed pretty far walk to get there so i would definitely recommend taxi's and trams

there is also coles and bakers delight only about 5-10 minute walk up the road which was really handy and convenient.

When we arrived at the apartments we checked out what we had in our apartment's looked through every cupboard and draws the knives and cutlery were a bit dirty but a dishwasher is good for that,

the next morning we realised our fridge and kettle wasn't working too well so we went down to speak to the manager and he got on it right away to send a maintenance guy up,

the beds were very comfortable my bedside light didn't work and the roller door in the bathroom wouldn't open/close properly.

You can also leave your key at reception so you don't loose it when you go sightseeing and can ask for it anytime as they are open 24/7, the night shift guy was very nice and gave us a lot of information what we needed to know,

also if your like me and don't bother reading the terms and conditions, it says that they take only 50% deposit when you first book and the next 50% when you arrive at the apartments, i freaked a little bit about this but they later explained,.

Room service- it says they only change over towels but we got fresh towels, change of bins, they packed our dishwasher and unpacked it if it was in ready,

There is so much to see and do in melbourne and i would have to say going to the Zoo was the best day. And i would recommend doing a Gaol Tour at the Old Melbourne Gaol (do the night it's really scary) and Neighbours Tour...

Places to eat- If i could go back i would eat at Lygon street (italian food) and also the crown casinos have over 100 restaurants so you wont go hungry.

Overall i would definitely stay here again,

Thanks to the staff that helped us while we were there i really appreciate it.

Room Tip: If you want a quite room we booked City View Room, Remember they take 50% Deposit when you book an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hi we were a family of 5 and when we arrived our bedroom which was completely clean and fantastically fresh !!
However our room was only ready for 4 people as the fold out bed was not made up!

When we booked with Quickbeds we specifically requested that we were a party of 5 !!!!

We tried to ask the Plum apartement staff to help us out however as their staff had already finished for the day we were unable to get bed sheets for the 5th person in our party.

Not impressed at all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Would not really consider using your services again as this to me was a simple request !

Thanks

Michelle

[--]

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

my family and I spent 2 nights in this apartment and found it very comfortable indeed. the advantage of 2 bedrooms ,each with their own bathroom, was a real bonus.location was good with tram and bus transport outside establishment. supermarkets and takeaways were very handy.the apartments were clean with practically everything that was needed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I shared a 2 bedroom apartment with work colleagues. The apartment had a full kitchen, clothes washer and drier. The apartment was very clean. The Melbourne Convention Centre and Crown Casino is a short 5 minute walk. Convenient stores and Mc Donald's are nearby for supplies. The reception staff are very helpful and friendly. The only criticism is NO READING LAMPS by the beds. The apartment had double sliding doors to the small balcony which blocked out any traffic noise. I recommend these apartments and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Very disappointed with cleanliness of the room, had to get housekeeping to come and vacuum again. Also advice before arrival re: parking was incorrect.
The staff do seem very helpful and the location and view is pretty good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aria Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Serviced Apartments

Address: 285 City Road | Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #458 of 913 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aria Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As of July, 2014 Aria Serviced Apartments is under new ownership (formerly known as Plum Apartments) We offer 1, 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained apartments that are well appointed & affordable in an excellent location with FREE WIFI. All apartments are fully self-contained and equipped with oven, microwave, gas cook top, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. Added features include 24 hour Front Desk /Reception, Breakfast Vouchers, Room Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Aria Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aria Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.