We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Ballarat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolate Mill

Chocolate Mill
5451 Midland Hwy | Mount Franklin, Victoria, Australia
(03)5476 4208
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Echuca, Australia
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Trip to Ballarat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have passed this location for the last 10 years and we finally have time to stop and visit.
What a shock with all the visitors when we pulled up and the location is great.
We sampled some wares, ordered some chocolate for the road trip home and had a great hot chocolate and ice coffee during or visit.
Recommend to all on the road between Ballarat and Castlemaine.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    30
    9
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Waste of Time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Like the title says....going here was a waste of time. It is a little ways out of Daylesford and we thought that it would be a nice way to spend a morning but we were dissapointed. It is a fairly run down strawbale house and the chocloate is very over priced. They did a demo / talk and they basically just tell you how bad all the other chocolate is and how good they are. The owner guy came across as sleazy and a bit creepy ....my wife did not want to stay after he talked to her. I did like the caramel chocolate but apart from that I give it two thumbs down.
Like one of the other reviewers points out...the rules!! Wow......it puts you on edge as soon as you walk in...posters everywhere telling you what you can't do. Its very controlling.
On the plus side...I found five bucks in the car park...so there was that. :)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Try the Jezebel chili chocolate.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was an unexpected stop for us as we traveled from Ballarat to Echuca. We did not try anything from the cafe or see the demonstration bit chose our own selection of 6 chocolates which came to about $8. The chocolate was of good quality and we particularly enjoyed the cinnamon & chili Jezebel cchocolate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Interesting talk and demo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Lovely location as soon as you arrive you see all the "don't" signs and upon entering the showroom "don't touch the walls, don't touch the chocolate, don't lick the window, no free samples" all a bit much then the watched the demo and all he talked about was bagging other chocolate companies like Cadbury, Nestlé etc not very fair or professional and was a big put off! We brought some truffles ($11 for 6) which were nice not fantastic, had a coffee which was cheap for $3 but was half froth! A nice place but could be improved the cafe didn't offer much was hoping for fresh chocolate cakes etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Interesting, not much choice to eat/drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Interesting talk, lovely straw bale building. Chocolates are natural, fair trade etc. so quite expensive. We bought a sampler box and a couple of others too - all yummy. Cafe is sort of outdoors, service not great, seem to be kids working there pushing the lines/fake enthusiasm. Definitely worth a visit if you haven't been there but they pretty much only serve hot drinks and chocolate cake there, so not a great place to have afternoon/morning tea. Milkshakes don't have real chocolate in them, just the regular milkbar stuff. Don't expect to spend much time there, tiny shop and have to wait in line for ages if they're busy. They had a very steady flow of customers the day we visited.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolate Mill also viewed

Daylesford, Victoria
Daylesford, Victoria
 

Been to Chocolate Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chocolate Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.