We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grampians - More Than I expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grampians

Grampians
Victoria, Australia
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Small Group
$129*
and up
Grampians National Park and Australian Animals...
Ranked #277 of 722 Attractions in Victoria
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Rock climbing
Attraction details
Vincentia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Grampians - More Than I expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Grampians in Western Victoria are a bit out of the way meaning they do not get the publicity and iconic status they deserve. Basically a long narrow valley with towering peaks on either side and the village of Hall's Gap at one end it turned out to be much more than I expected. McKenzie Falls on the way into the valley from the north were very impressive but also quite crowded with lots of coaches carrying tour and school groups. Apparently this is the most visited attraction in the Grampians and we didn't see these crowds anywhere else in the mountains. We camped at Halls Gap for 4 nights but could have stayed longer. One of the best features is the number of walks that start right from Halls Gap. Some are short and easy, others longer and steeper, and if you are lucky sometimes a loop. For the less energetic or those with children there are also car parks up the mountain making access to the main features like the Balconies and The Pinnacle with their amazing views and the stunning Grand Canyon readily accessible. There are signs of devastation from recent bushfires and a huge flood in 2011, but Vic Parks and local government have done an amazing job rebuilding trails and infrastructure and making most of the range accessible again. We visited in spring and saw lots of wildflowers, plenty of interesting birds and had close encounters with echidnas, wallabies and other native animals.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I started our walk from Halls Gap to the Pinnacle. Opted for the longer route. Not suitable for the faint hearted. The views were fantastic let alone the rock formation on the way. On the way down we took the longer route to the Wonderland carpark. Explored the Canyon and more rock formations and a waterfall. Took us 5 hours to do the walk but it was thoroughly enjoyable.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pinnacle walk - amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

You can start the Pinnacle walk from Halls Gap township, but my husband and I opted to take the short drive to Wonderland Carpark and start the walk from there, saving us about 2 hours walking total. Overall the walk is amazing. The 1st part goes through the Grand Canyon, with some stunning rock formations (although it does involve some rock-hopping). The middle part of the walk follows a well formed path and steps gradually uphill through bushland, whilst the last section, through "Silent Street", involves walking through an interesting narrow rocky canyon, and then up a rocky section to the absolutely stunning views at the Pinnacle. The walk is about 4km return and involves a consistent uphill climb on the way up, with some rockhopping involved. We saw quite a few children quite comfortably completing the walk, although you would need to keep a close eye on them at the summit! I would imagine the rocks could get quite slippery during or after rain. Overall a stunning walk, with the sublime views and interesting rock formations well worth the effort. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Southern Grampians Wilderness Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stunning cabins, very quiet and relaxing.....so peaceful
Brilliant place to unwind
On the web and email so easily found
Near Rocklands Resevoir

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narre Warren North, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great walking and hiking trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have an 8 yo and an 11 yo and we all loved the experience. I had to keep telling my 11 yo to slow down as he kept running ahead, but for those of us who are less active it s a very good challenge. My husband and I did the walk in a better time than most but only due to the fact of younger kids to keep up with. Challenging in some areas and if you do the walk from the caravan park there are lots of steps! Be careful doing the Wonderland walk in the wet as it can get slippery.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grampians also viewed

 
Grampians, Victoria
Hamilton, Grampians
 

Been to Grampians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grampians, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.