We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very oldy worldy, typical English pub of days gone by.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shipwright's Arms

Shipwright's Arms
29 Trumpeter Street, Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #148 of 416 Restaurants in Hobart
Price range: $22 - $88
Cuisines: Pub, Bistro, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very oldy worldy, typical English pub of days gone by.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We dined here after recommendation from a work colleague.
Disappointed when we arrived to be told they have stopped serving lunch(it was 2.05pm). So went elsewhwere,
Tried it again on our last night, staff very friendly. I ordered a entree as my main course and was suprised on getting the bill that they had charged, I am assuming a full price dish.However it was nice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    36
    17
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Feel like a local in this pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My partner and I had dinner here over the Easter long weekend, because it was a short walk from our accommodation and were pleasantly surprised with our experience. This is a pub filled with locals and you could hear their banter as they enjoyed a beer at the end of their day. The bar is full of character and old sea faring charm. Lots of photos of yachts and Sydney to Hobart paraphernalia. The dining room also has a boat hanging from the ceiling.
The staff were attentive and friendly, our food arrived swiftly and we enjoyed our selection of seafood. It wasn't the best food we had in Tasmania but it was good pub grub in a hotel full of character and charm. We will eat here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the price tag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Went here because it was close by, however left disappointed. The seafood chowder was nice, but the mains were certainly not worth their price tag and sounded much better than they tasted.

The biggest disappointment was the seafood platter which felt more like something from a fish and chips shop and certainly wasn't worth $45.

The kids' meals are good value at $10, however and the service was very good and friendly. A good pub meal, but not too much more than that.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Innes NSW
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A step up from regular pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Surprisingly roomy bistro area in this unassuming looking pub. Meals and service very appealing; will return next time. Warning that the kitchen closed at 8pm when I was there so would recommend getting there early and maybe booking ahead for bigger parties

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The pub itself is full of nautical stuff. the main bar is comfortable but it is when you dine in the bistro that you are in for a real treat. Freshest seafood cooked to perfection, great choice of entree, main and dessert. OMG the desserts were amazing. Staff great. Chefs in open kitchen friendly and happy. great place to eat, That is Shippies

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipwright's Arms also viewed

 

Been to Shipwright's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shipwright's Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.