We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great service and yummy food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da Angelo Ristorante

Da Angelo Ristorante
47 Hampden Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
(03) 62237011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 459 Restaurants in Hobart
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Always great service and yummy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This would be the 4th time I have been here and am yet to have a bad meal. One suggestion though is to not being out children's pizzas straight out of the oven especially with hot cheese. My four year old was unlucky enough to burn his finger quite badly. It was our fault also as we should have checked as soon as it was brought out but didn't think to.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    113
    24
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food - great service - easy walk from Salamanca Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A busy little restaurant - but don't be put off by that.The service was attentive and personal and we could take our time - Aliana (I hope I spelt her name correctly!) was all smiles despite the pace of the restaurant and took time to chat and share a smile. The food was very tasty and fresh with a well priced bottle of red. One of the owners Marco also took some time out to chat with us. An easy walk from Salamanca Place. Booking recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Like Boston's North End, but in Hobart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I'm an Italian-American with the last name D'Angelo, so I sort of chose this restaurant half based on reviews, and half based on a desire to hand them my credit card and say, "Let's send each other Christmas cards!"

The staff were friendly and made plenty of time for me even though it was very busy and I went by myself without a reservation. If you're visiting with a group on Wed-Saturday I'd suggest making a reservation. I was there on a Wednesday night around 5:30 pm and it got really busy by 6 pm.

I had the fettuccine con scampi and all of the parts to it were technically very good, but the sauce made it. IT WAS SO GOOD. I also had a cassata which was yummy and refreshing. I was a little disappointed with the cappuccino - it was a little forgettable.

All in all really good! A little expensive for a poor college student like yours truly, but for the quality of food, appropriate. I can't wait to come back, hopefully with a significant other or with my family. It's a good place for couples and for families. Reminded me of the classic New York Italian restaurants I visit with my grandparents and parents back home in the US.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a wonderful experience dining out with our two children. From the moment we walked in the door we were warmly greeted by the very friendly manager. The wait staff were so patient and helpful and the food was delicious. I definitely recommend booking as it gets very busy ... I can understand why!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarence, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor service, expensive and bland food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Walking into Da Angelo's after booking two weeks in advance i was greeted by a man who I can only assume to be the owner. He was rude, intolerant and insulted my hat. I Proceeded to my table where a lovely waitress guided me through the menu. After my experience at the door, I was happy to eat what looked like great food. After waiting 1 HOUR for my food, i discovered it was cold, bland and quite possibly the most capitalistic Italian I had ever eaten. Appalled i left, only to be charged $48 for the whole craptastic experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Angelo Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Da Angelo Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Angelo Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.