We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da Angelo Ristorante

Da Angelo Ristorante
47 Hampden Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
(03) 62237011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 477 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Great food, service and fantastically friendly staff. A must if you are in Hobart and looking for Italian food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    133
    30
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“What a treasure of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel. We arrived without a booking at around 8pm on Anzac day public holiday. We were welcomed with open arms! A table for 2 was no trouble at all.

The service was amazing, dinner arrived quickly even though they were really busy.
The food was absolutely amazing. I would recommend anyone to visit and try

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stumbled across Ristorante Da Angelo during a recent stay at Battery Point in Hobart. It was incredibly busy for a week night but we managed to get a last minute booking at 8.30pm. It was worth the wait. The food was truly sensational. I had a scallopine limone to die for. The veal was tender and there was a definite but not strong taste of lemon. The vegetables served with the veal were perfect and the others I ate with were very happy with their scallopines and pasta as well. We shared a sticky date pudding and a creme brulee which were delicious as well. The restaurant is also byo wine which makes it great value as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Particularly impressive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I entered Da Angelo alone tonight, and although they were fully booked they made an effort to find me a spot by the window looking out to the street. The gnocci I ordered was amongst the best I've ever had and the marinara sauce with it was really delicious. The garlic bread is also mention-worthy, as it's truly a cut above the norm. The reason I'm moved to write this review though is the extremely lovely service I received from every staff member I came into contact with. The welcome and farewell were both warm and sincere, as was the friendly, attentive service from each of the waitresses. This was my first meal out in Hobart and the bar has been set very high.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Magnifico!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Outstanding, incredibly delicious, sensational - these words spring to mind when I think of the meal we had last night at this restaurant. Flavour packed, extensive menu, served piping hot in record time in a very busy (and noisy) restaurant. My only regret is that the meal ended and I could not fit another thing in!! Bravo!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Angelo Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Da Angelo Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Angelo Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.