We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian Delight at Battery Point” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da Angelo Ristorante

Da Angelo Ristorante
47 Hampden Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
(03) 62237011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 477 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Italian Delight at Battery Point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were only in Hobart for one night.We arrived at our hotel around 6 pm. We asked the desk for a recommendation for dinner. Da Angelo Ristorante was one of several choices. When we arrived we were told that since we had no booking it would be a 2 hour wait. They offered take out which would be 30 minutes.While we waited, we were amazed at the number of people picking up take out as well as the patrons with bookings coming and going. Everyone was raving about the food. We were made to feel like family as we waited. The place emanates a warmth and everyone is made to feel special. We had been dropped off at the restaurant and did not know exactly how to walk back to our hotel. The owner personally took time to draw us a map and explain how to get back. The food was delicious( Chicken Parmesagna, Veal Piccata, Lasagna, Spaghetti, Pizza, and Cannoles) and not expensive at all. We had a wonderful experience while waiting and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. If ever in Hobart this restaurant and its helpful staff should not be missed. Making a booking to enjoy the full atmosphere of the cozy dining room.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    133
    30
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If only all restaurants were this good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

When the manager welcomes you in, the place is full and buzzing with atmosphere, the young staff are enthusiastic about the food they are offering, then you know you're in for a good night. This restaurant ticks all the boxes, well presented wholesome food, attentive service, good ambience (and for Hobart) exceptional value..
Just loved it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“As a local... I eat here often”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

As the title says, I am a local and have eaten at this restaurant over the past 20 years. I have never had a bad meal and regularly take my interstate and international guests here. The food is reliably good, the service is fantastic and the value for money is great. There is something on the menu for everyone and kids have a great choice. The desserts are also fantastic... If you can fit them in :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe, Il
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Mix and Match to Your Stomach's Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

After following a friend’s advice for our first meal in Hobart, I turned back to TA to select this restaurant. The point of capture: a promise of homemade pasta and its generally high rating (#2 In Hobart). What to our wondering taste buds should appear in addition to homemade pasta, but homemade sauces, homemade bread, and homemade pizza dough. When we arrived, I thought I was back home in Little Italy in my hometown of Wilmington, Delaware. The compact restaurants atmosphere, divided into several rooms colored in mauve and black with black tables on two floors said “home”. And so it was as Angelo, the proprietor, an Italian/Australian, compared notes about home made recipes with my family of Italian/Irish/Americans who had measured all Italian meals by “mama’s”.

In essence the menu is a mix and match free for all to delight your taste buds and fill your stomach. What type of pasta do you want? Pick from nine. What type of sauce? Pick 45 variations. Can you add this ingredient or take this one out? (I had never thought of chili as an ingredient in tomato sauce, but it is much loved in Australia!) Just pasta? Pasta with veal? Chicken? Vegetarian? How do you want those finished? And if you don’t want pasta, what about pizza? What sauces? What mixes? Or a calzone?

Our choices and advice from the waitperson: one ham and cheese calzone, the pumpkin ravioli in a napoleteana sauce, a veal marzalla and a spaghetti with traditional tomato meat sauce. For my grandson: spaghetti with just shrimp in garlic sauce on the side.

First, as advertised, the home made pasta in all the dishes was melt in the mouth like mama rolled. Heaven on earth. And because there were more than two dozen ravioli stuffed with pumpkin (there were two other hard to reject choices) I had to share several with my dinner mates. This allowed us to note that each pasta had its special texture. Second, the sauces. I had napeoletana. (plain tomato with herbs) Again as good as any from my mom, and I seldom say that. Definitely not Olive Garden generic. Topped with generous thin slices of provolone and this dish was an Italian dish that hit the stars. The same was said by the others with their different sauces. Only one felt that the Marsala sauce was too sweet for her taste, but that the veal under was a tender as could be. She devoured it all.

Equal possibilities were offered for the appetizers and then for deserts.. (We opted for a single dish of dark chocolate almond gelato and four spoons. Three gigantic dips in a single bowl said it was a good idea we were sharing. We ended with shots of amoretto or grappa to say this was a good, good meal, well served by an attentive team that made the 90 minutes a well met meal that was lots of down home fun in a far away land.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

A slightly better than average Italian restaurant. The pizza base was quite thick and with the generous toppings made quite a mouthful, substantial but not subtle. The waitress had suggested that the medium size might be too small for two of us to share even though we were sharing a pasta dish as well. The large size was just too big especially as the toppings are so generous. The spaghetti Nicolina was nice but could have been more flavoursome. Perhaps the tiramisu for dessert was the best dish, quite sophisticated in comparison with a lot of the tiramisu served in this type of restaurant. The biscotti were outstanding, best I have ever tasted. Not a particularly expensive meal but not one to remember. The restaurant seems to be very popular and it is wise to book in advance especially at the weekend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Angelo Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Da Angelo Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Angelo Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.