We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Thai and stunning location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mai Ake Asian Cuisine

Mai Ake Asian Cuisine
Ground Floor, Murray Street Pier, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
(03) 62243559
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #183 of 439 restaurants in Hobart
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Thai, Asian fusion
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous Thai and stunning location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful meal this is the third time we have been to Mai Ake in the last few weeks and the food is nothing short of stunning. We came to celebrate our son's birthday and all of our group of 6 loved the food and the presentation. The meals are generous in size and so flavoursome. Service is impeccable. We will certainly be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    15
    14
    8
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hobart
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Many better and cheaper curries in Hobart”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Had a work lunch here and ate a main red chicken curry. Was described as medium hot curry but was at best mild to medium. Average curry for a $27 price tag. I wouldn't recommend this place. If you want a good Thai curry try Vanidols in North Hobart or Annapurna for Indian. Dede's is also much better.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A wonderful lunch - but we were the only customers there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We visited Mai Ake recently and were the only patrons there at lunch time. It’s hard to understand why this is - the service was good, lovely waitress, and the food was really great especially the poached trevalla, the duck pancakes and the eggplant and tofu salad. We shared a coconut crème brûlée for dessert and the coffee was excellent.

The menu descriptions really did not do justice to the wonderful food. We will eat here again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We went there and could not decide so had to order a variety of dishes. Best thing though because the food is exceptional and service is the same. If you go there it is a must to have the chicken wings because they are like nothing you have ever eaten before. Great night and exceptional food. Thanks.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We arrived at this venue with a slight feeling of trepidation as we had read some mixed revues and because we do not often have the chance of eating out on a Friday we did not want to waste this rare opportunity. Our concerns grew as the restaurant was not very busy and it was nearly 8 pm! [Late for Hobart] As we entered we were warmly greeted by a young waitress and she lead us to a table overlooking the waterside.This spot could not have been better and the Peppermint Bay cruiser berhted soon after. Water was brought quickly and soon after our menus and winelists. We chose a SA Sauvigon Blanc which at $23 was very good value and was as good as some of the Marlborough wines. The only minor carp i have is that when a white wine is brought to the table the wine bucket should contain a slurry of water and ice. Even ice alone does not suffice as the bottle will just rest on top of the ice and no cold will be transferred without water being added. That said the situation was quickly rectified with quibble or raised eyebrows. Excellent service to be sure.
My wife then ordered two Duck Pancakes and i the Tom Yum.
We had not decided on a main course yet but again no fuss ado was made by our charming waitress. When my soup arrived it was steaming hot and so were the pancakes. After finishing a pancake in complete silence my wife declared them the best she has eaten and i must say my Tom Yum was also up there with one i had had in Sydney at the Senior Crocodile Club.Both are terrific and better than some so called authentic Thai restaurants in Hobart. By the time we chose our main corses their wer no ffeeling of trpidation about the quality of the food and this proved true too for my Sweet and Sour Stir Fried Pork which was a triumph. My wifes King sized Prawns stir fried with Basil and garlic was also a memorable dish. What i forgot to mention was that during our first course a steady stream of patrons had been arriving and by the time we left the dining space was humming with contented diners. Having read a couple of negative reviews i can only say that our experience was top class. Food;authenticity,decor; service et al was excellent so dont miss out give Mai Ake another try.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mai Ake Asian Cuisine also viewed

Hobart, Tasmania
Hobart, Tasmania
 

Been to Mai Ake Asian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mai Ake Asian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.