We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for Quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mures Lower Deck

Mures Lower Deck
Victoria Dock, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
0362312121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #170 of 439 restaurants in Hobart
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Ice Cream, Café, Bistro, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Enjoy your fish and chips sitting amongst the fishing boats while watching the days catch being unloaded. Serving the freshest seafood has been our motto for two generations but at Lower Deck we offer simple fish & chips representing good value. Our fast food family bistro cooks all types of seafood to order either grilled with salads or fried in cholesterol free vegetable oil.Wherever possible the fresh fish is linecaught on our own boat, Diana. Fully licensed, Lower Deck is a convenient, relaxed place to enjoy a glass of Tasmanian wine soaking up the ambience of the unique Hobart waterfront.We can cater for large groups subject to prior arrangement.Our menu offers a wide selection of fresh seafood, including light meals, mains, platters and kids meals.
Queensland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Overpriced for Quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We ate in the caferteria style Lower Deck and were very disappointed with both the quality of the seafood on offer and the high price. It may be worth a visit to see the seafood on display, but eat elsewhere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    84
    139
    89
    59
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“beautiful fresh tasmanian seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

it was very nice for lunch a good intro to Tasmania, a bit on the expensive side I guess, but I think we chose the expensive options. Nice casual place

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ok Food for a cafeteria”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Food was ok but nothing amazing. the naturally good tasmanian grilled salmon was overcooked and the fries quite "pale"..
However, if you consider this place as a cafeteria, then it is ok food..

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Quintessential - an institution that has not let it's fab location lower quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Fresh cold and well cooked seafood served cafe style. Grab an outside or inside table then order and you will get a buzzer that goes off when order ready Drinks reasonable with some good Tassie wines by glass or bottle and beers. and water free.

Noticed a well known Aust. chef several tables over enjoying fresh oysters and beer in the great location.

So not the cheapest fish and chips but not poor quality at tourist prices either (fish and chips round $AUS12 so not bad for a venue. Australians are pretty up on seafood since it is abundant here so part of our weekly /if not daily diet. As a result even fish and chips needs to be pretty good for us to be impressed.

Pretty damn good fish and chips (most of us) as were the healthier grilled fish (weight conscious relative), fresh shucked oysters and cold taster platter with a bottle of reasonably priced Tassie wine and the location is priceless.

Overall, great location, pretty good food at reasonable prices and a quintessential way to spend a leisurely lunch in Hobart.

Definitely worth a visit if you are visiting Hobart.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“I normally dislike seafood with a passion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Location perfect. Plenty of indoor/outdoor sitting. I'm not one for seafood, but the battered squid was cooked to perfection! Melted in the mouth. The fish was perfect. I did not need any sauce, as I usually do with seafood from elsewhere, to mask the seafood taste. Portions large. My 2 year olds lived it too. Ice cream tasted very good too.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mures Lower Deck also viewed

 

Been to Mures Lower Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mures Lower Deck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.