We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Me Wah

Me Wah
Sandy Bay Road | Magnet Court, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
(03) 62233688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 460 Restaurants in Hobart
Price range: $0 - $86
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Simply excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We dine at Me Wah fairly frequently the food is always beautifully prepared and the service excellent. Weekend Yum Cha is the absolute stand out, they have the best har gow I have ever eaten , the prawn and ginger dumplings are always superb. Don't expect the endless variety of offerings that you see in Sydney or Melbourne, Me Wah's variety is smaller but always exquistley produced.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    52
    26
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Magnificent, Consistent Food...All dishes ordered were perfect. The Best Lemon Chicken I've had anywhere..Highly recommended to anyone visiting Hobart.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super Dooper Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Headed here for dinner for a special celebration, but it was not the first visit for either of us. Extremely impressed, as always, with the exceptionally high levels of service.
Food was superb and served promptly. Mains were Wasabi Wagyu Beef and XO Scallops. The scallops were huge.
Entre was the Peking Duck Pancakes. Wowee. These are a winner. @ $28 for 4, they are more on the costly side, but you are paying for quality.

Great place and its one of our favourites. Will go back for sure and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Banana fritter to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

All 5 at our table last night enjoyed our meals immensely .... great service too.
My chicken and macadamia nuts was a very reasonable $24 It was such a difficult choice as far as dessert went.... choc sauce pudding, fried ice cream ... but the banana fritter was delicious at $10.
Couldn't fault our meals .. 10 out of 10. Can't wait to return. I can understand why this restaurant keeps winning awards. It is simply a wonderful Chinese restaurant

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Incredible wine list!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I ate here on my last night in Hobart. Unfortunately I was not able to eat/drink as much as I wanted to! The staff are very helpful...perhaps just a fraction too OTT for me, it is in fact odd a restaurant like this in a suburban complex! Do not get me wrong the staff were great, just perhaps too formal. I managed only one glass of wine but the wine list is incredible and the sommelier well educated. I tried the bugs followed by cheeks. Perhaps I missed it on the menu but the bugs came in a 'batter', not what I was expecting. I did not really do the checks justice, they were so rich, I recommend sharing! The staff were happy to accommodate my bill split request and I truly wish I had gone at a different time...I think I would have enjoyed it even more!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Me Wah also viewed

 

Been to Me Wah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Me Wah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.