We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Excellent Room, Excellent Value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra One Sandy Bay Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra One Sandy Bay Road to your Saves list
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Sandy Bay Road, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Capricorn Coast, QLD
1 review
“Excellent Location, Excellent Room, Excellent Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

Mantra is in a great location on the fringe of the CBD (about 5 mins to the Mall). Hotel is located right across the road from St David's Park that leads down to Salamanca Place (shops, pubs, restaurants etc).

Rooms are clean and very spaceious! Beds are comfortable and the kitchenette has everything you need to prepare simple meals.

I would highly reccommend the Mantra to anyone travelling for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    112
    55
    18
    13
See reviews for
36
131
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

I selected Mantra One from wotif.com as it was close to my conference venue. The property is very clean and modern, with spacious but quirky accommodation. (The building is a former telephone exchange.) It's just a few minutes walk to the bars, restaurants and market in Salamanca and quite close to downtown Hobart. The room has new mod cons such as microwave, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. One piece of advice: be sure to buy in your breakfast in advance, or you will go hungry as I did!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane-Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

I stayed for a week for work and found this to be an excellent apartment hotel. They do have some strange room configurations as it's been built into an old warehouse or office building. This meant that I had huge windows in my lounge overlooking Mt Wellington but no natural light or windows in my bedroom at all. A bit unfortunate but as I was only sleeping in my room, I didn'y worry too much. Having a full kitchen was great. Bathrrom was also modern, clean and plenty of hot water (as well as a washing machine). I felt like was in an episode from a show on the lifestyle channel as it had very low key, streamlined and modern decor in a posh understated way.

It's close to nearly everything and well within walking distance of the harbour and docks as well as the market at Salamanca Place on Saturday. Leaving our luggae after check out was no trouble. I travel a lot for work and believe me - a hotel like this in another capital city would have cost at least half the price again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Victoria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

Spacious luxury apartments. I found this on Wotif and then contacted the apartments directly. We had a two bedroom apartment, which was on two levels and absolutely huge, on the 5th/top floor of the complex at the side and thus had no problems with noise. The apartment was beautiful with microwave, dishwasher and all utensils. The bathroom was big with a washer/drier which was very useful after a fortnight in Tassie! Aircon was provided in the living room and the top bedroom which we did have on as it was warm in Tas. We booked parking under the building for $10 per night which was well worth the money for security and ease. This accomodation was perfect for us as we were out and about all day and wanted to self cater.

  • Liked — very high quality fixtures and fittings
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whiteknight5
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

The apartments are ideally located right opposite David's Park and close to Sullivans Cove. The room we stayed in was luxurious, very clean and provided everything we needed. However our short stay in Hobart was ruined by the excessive noise levels experienced on the three nights that we stayed in the apartments (we were supposed to stay for four, but cancelled the fourth night). Granted we stayed over the holiday season - 29-31 December, but you don't expect your sleep to be disrupted by rowdy guests every single night. On the 29, other guests were shouting and banging doors all night and morning long, playing loud music until 3:30am. We complained to the management, they spoke to the guests making the noise, but this still continued. In the end we had to buy some ear-plugs, and we wore these every night, just so we could get a decent night sleep.

I think it is pot luck with these apartments, if you time it well, it will be quiet, but watch out for the major holiday seasons, as this is when the apartments will be full, and you could be left sleepless in Hobart.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

Mantra One Sandy Bay is a nice place to stay but not if you don't like the heat and don't like having a wall mounted air conditioner on 24/7! It's a real shame that you can't open windows anywhere in the whole building to let in that lovely fresh Hobart air!

The whole building is very hot and stuffy overall and the rooms facing the afternoon sun must be unbearable in the summer.

We thought we had found the perfect accommodation at last in Hobart for our yearly stays, but the overheated building and rooms have put us off.

You definitely won't want to stay there if you feel the heat and don't want to have your holiday spoiled with the continual drone of an air conditioner sharing your room.

  • Liked — very nice rooms, clean and modern
  • Disliked — not being able to open windows anywhere and having the air conditioner on 24/7
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

A very classy self contained unit. We stayed in a twin share apartment that consisted of a bedroom, lounge, kitchen and bathroom/laundry.
This apartment was very comfortable with everthing down to the fixtures being lovely.
The shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and soap provided is gorgeous unlike alot of motels. There is no bath in this apartment. The bathroom doubles as a laundry with a washer/dryer combo and a wash tub. The toilet and basin is also in the bathroom. Seems like alot in one room, but it's not squishy.
The beds were super comfortable! The bedroom has a wardrobe, TV, bedside tables with dimmer lamps and one alarm clock.
The kitchen has everything from the more obscure kitchen utensils to a dishwasher and is very modern.
The lounge/dining area is quite spacious. The dining table sits 6 and the couch sits about 4. There is a decent stereo, TV and DVD player. I think I counted about 5 TV channels and they supply an informative tourism DVD on attractions around Tasmania which was helpful.
There is secure car parking and after hours entry including. Visitors can call you from outside by entering your room number then pushing 'Call' but you have to go down stairs to let them in.
The location of the Mantra is one of it's best points. We walked everywhere. It's only a few blocks from the Salamanca Markets, great eating spots, night life and shopping.
The only bad things I could say about the Mantra are that the rooms and hallway were a bit stuffy and only a sheet was needed at night with the air conditioner on. A full length mirror would have been great (but where there's a will there's a way and I used the window in the lounge :)

  • Liked — price, apartment, location, service
  • Disliked — heat of rooms, no full length mirror, hair dryer poor
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra One Sandy Bay Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra One Sandy Bay Road

Address: 1 Sandy Bay Road, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra One Sandy Bay Road 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the Hobart CBD, opposite St David's Park, Mantra One Sandy Bay Road provides first class apartment accommodation within close proximity to the central business district and surrounding areas. Whether on business or holidays, the Mantra One Sandy Bay Road provides access to many of Tasmania's popular tourist areas including Salamanca Place, famous for its weekend markets.Comprising 54 fully air conditioned one bedroom apartments, Mantra One Sandy Bay Road provides urban views over the St Davids Park, Hobart and Mount Wellington. All apartments are fully self contained featuring open plan designs to enhance the natural space and light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mantra One Sandy Bay Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 1 Sandy Bay Road
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hotel Hobart
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.