We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequately comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra One Sandy Bay Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra One Sandy Bay Road to your Saves list
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Sandy Bay Road, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Adequately comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road on our recent trip to Hobart.

The location of the apartments was great and we were able to easily explore hobart city on foot. We found our room to be spacious (the living area was enormous!) and comfortable. After a small hiccup on checking in (our room wasn't ready), the reception staff swiftly located us to a different room which was clean and despite being on the first floor, was very quiet.

Recommend booking parking when you book your room as all parking in the area is limited and/or metered and the Manta car park books out.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    119
    61
    21
    17
See reviews for
39
140
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Most of the previous reviews are spot on. This property is in a great location, close to Constitution Dock, the city and Salamanca Place. It is a converted telephone/telegraph exchange, hence the layout of the rooms which are large (we stayed in a one bedroom executive suite), but unimaginative. We were disappointed that it was so tired given its potential. For instance, the couches in the lounge area were really a disgrace - badly stained and sagging - and the mattress on the bed needed replacing. However, the The kitchenette and bathroom were good. The reception staff were helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Mantra is in a great location, close to Salamanca Place, Battery Point and the shopping centre is about a 10 minute or so walk away. Our room was a good size but it appears the whole establishment needs a bit of love and attention. The rubbish bin, which was under the sink in a cupboard, was actually holding up a shelf - which came crashing down when my husband put something in the bin. He reported it and it was fixed the next day - pretty good considering it was Easter. Staff are lovely, and very happy to chat about what is going on in the area and give you some suggestions, one being the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery which was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Sandy Bay Road for a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Have stayed at many mantra within Australia but this one was not one I would stay at again. Great location and spacious room but poorly equipped for self contained apartment and biggest negative no wifi unless purchased ! Few tried to purchased but xpensive and not a user friendly site. We were there purely to go to Mona and do some local attractions . Mona worth the visit but pick a different stay

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!! ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

After reading some negative reviews we were a little hesitant to stay here. Late night check in ran very smoothly and when we entered apartment 406 we were pleasantly surprised. It was very clean and tidy and very little traffic noise. We had a 3 day stay and were very comfortable, great location with a nice stroll through the park to Salamanca and equally as close to the city shopping.
We have already re-booked for our Xmas vacation
The staff were exceptional, friendly and really helpful. It was Meagan's great attitude and personality that sold the place to me!
For the $$'s you pay it is good value. Have most certainly stayed in far worse and been charged a lot more money in Hobart over the years (we a regular visitors to that wonderful city)

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Mantry One in Hobart is a great place to stay. Friendly, clean - although a little tired, apartments are huge! We only stayed for a weekend this trip but for longer stays, this accommodation is perfect - modern laundry and kitchen facilities and well set out. Great views - in our case of the mountain and very well positioned. A walk through St David's Park brings you right to Salamanca Place then onto the dock.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a one bedroom apartment at the Mantra One Sandy Bay Road in late February. The apartment: it was very large, new kitchen and bathroom and had everything you could need. The location: it was only minutes away from Salamanca Place (where the majority of good restaurants in Hobart are). Check in: was very easy and quick and staff during check in and check out were very friendly. The only thing for improvement would be the TV's in the apartment, they are old and only the main channels available. Thanks for a great stay, we'll definitely come back when we return to Hobart.

Room Tip: There was a washer/dryer in our apartment, made preparing for home with clean clothes very handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra One Sandy Bay Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra One Sandy Bay Road

Address: 1 Sandy Bay Road, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra One Sandy Bay Road 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the centre of Hobart, opposite St David's Park, Mantra One Sandy Bay Road provides apartment accommodation within close proximity to the central business district and surrounding areas. Comprising modern self contained studios and one bedroom apartments each has an open plan design to create space and maximise comfort. All studios and apartments are air conditioned and provide urban views over Sandy Bay Road, St David's Park, Mount Wellington and the city of Hobart. The studios and apartments are ideally situated within easy walking distance of government offices and within close proximity of the central business district and associated services. Stroll through beautiful St David's Park to historic Salamanca Place, famous for its weekend markets, nearby Sullivan's Cove and Hobart Dock areas featuring a plethora of restaurants, cafes and attractions all right at your doorstep. Whether visiting Hobart on business or pleasure, our property provides the ideal accommodation, ensuring maximum comfort and a home away from home. It's also the perfect base from which to experience the vibrant cultural lifestyle and all Hobart offers. **Reception hours are: Monday-Friday: 8:00am-6:00pm. Saturday: 8:00am-1:00pm. Sunday: 9:00am-12:00 noon. ** (If you are arriving after these hours please call reception to arange after hours check in) Limited secure under cover parking is available on-site for registered guests,(daily fee $15.00 Applies per parking space). PRE-BOOKING OF PARKING SPACES IS REQUIRED, due to limited facilities all parking spaces are subject to availability and confirmation by the property. Ample street parking in close vicinity to One Sandy Bay Road is available. Mantra One Sandy Bay Road apartments are serviced weekly. Should you be staying with us for 7 nights or more your unit will receive a complimentary mid stay service. For shorter stays which are un-serviced we are happy to offer the opportunity to have a Refresh service provided on the day of your choice during your stay at additional charges. **Car parking is available onsite for an additional cost of $15 per night but MUST be pre-booked in adavance with the property** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mantra One Sandy Bay Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hotel Hobart
Mantra 1 Sandy Bay Road
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.