We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't look promising, but delivered.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Machine Laundry Cafe

Machine Laundry Cafe
12 Salamanca Square, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
03 6224 9922
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 460 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Sydney - Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Didn't look promising, but delivered.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We arrived early Sat morning and the place was deserted.. However, id heard good things and im glad we stayed. I had Roti wrapped scrambled eggs, which was excellent.

Coffee good too.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    120
    28
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Quirky and Cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Had brekky hete, food fabulous, great value for money and presented well. Menu offered many interesting options. Waitstaff attentive and friendly. Would recommend :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Our favourite breakfast cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We've been here before and recommended it to others. They have a fantastic selection of breakfast dishes - the roti filled with scrambled eggs served with chilli jam is really delicious, and so is the muesli. Good coffee too.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

When this cafe first opened it was innovative and quirky, but for me now there are much better places I would rather go. I expected it to be busy on a recent Saturday, and it was, but we were lucky and found an indoor table immediately. The negatives were that it not only felt dirty, it was. There was a lot of spilt food under the table and chairs from previous patrons. The service was OK - certainly efficient, but not particularly friendly. My biggest disappointment was the coffee. It was really nice, but the cups, though cutely retro, were tiny - almost like a demi tasse - So the coffee only lasted three mouthfuls. Not good value for $3.50. The food was really nice, and the servings were big, but I would prefer somewhere cleaner with decent sized coffee cups and a bright smile from the waitresses!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great start to the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

This was my second visit to Machine, the first was a couple of days prior for coffee, which was excellent. A peek at the menu then encouraged me to visit again for brunch. Despite a busy clientele we were seated quickly.
What a menu! I struggled to choose from the varied and innovative menu. Still had the classics but also many different options which all sounded excellent. From the food envy I had with my fellow diners there's a lot of delicious food to be had here.
We had the 'Old New eggs' and the eggs royale, both of which were very generous servings and absolutely delicious. The coffee we ordered prior turned up promptly as did our food. The wait staff were fantastic, very attentive and always watching out for things to do and attend to.
A great experience and meal, I'm just annoyed that I'm an out of town visitor so can't make this my regular!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Machine Laundry Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Machine Laundry Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Machine Laundry Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.