We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Remi de Provence

Remi de Provence
252 Macquarie Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
03 6223 3933
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 439 restaurants in Hobart
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
hobart
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“simply superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

What a gem this is. We have had several lunches there, and each time the food and wine have been majestic. The special lunch for two offers incredible value, with two courses costing only $30 for the couple! The cassoulet was rich and satisfying, and the creme brulee as good if not better than any we had in France. The twice cooked lamb melts in your mouth. The duck - oh, the duck! Perfection in every way, with the most subtle orange sauce. The wine list is outstanding, with a tempting array of French varieties. The ambience is minimalist, but cosy. This is a stand-out, by every criteria.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    48
    35
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“A French New Year's Eve celebration in Hobart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had planned a last minute new year's eve dinner in Hobart and Remi followed up our phone call to inform us about menu, entertainment and costs. After entering we waited in their reception area for a while, then we were taken upstairs to the dining room by a young fair headed waiter. It did not take long to settle in as the patrons were already enjoying themselves and there was a festive atmosphere. The table was adorned with whistles, party hats, bubble blowers and streamers, but without tablecloth, keeping the French bistro look.
A glass of Australian sparkling was offered and the specially printed menu was on the table too. It was a five course dinner, with a small dietary amendment of no shellfish for one of us. The serves were smallish but well presented and not rushed during the night. We liked everything apart from the duck which we thought was a little under-cooked (that could be our personal taste). The drinks list offered by Remi is very select with a leaning towards French wines and liqueurs. Our choice was a half bottle of St. Joseph 2011 Syrah (priced $55).
The evening was enhanced by music from a Jazz duo; this even got a few young couples to dance cheek to cheek (including us!). It was a fabulous night. The staff were polite and friendly, providing good service. At the end we were distracted by looking at the deli products one could buy, and forgot to collect our camera and spectacles. We had messages from Celine and Remy the next day, and then arranged to collect our goods at their Glencoe Farm in Barrington (as the restaurant was closed for a few days), enjoying some dishes cooked by Remi's wife, Ginette.
We certainly recommend Remi De Provence for travellers heading to Hobart.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best Creme Brulee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was my second time visiting Remi's and I was hoping that our first delicious experience wasn't a fluke... It wasn't. This is the yummiest restaurant in Hobart and the prices for what you get are well worth your money. The wine list is extensive and I have on both visits discovered a type of wine that I now love. Our table of four all had separate meals and we all argued who had the best (I maintain my double cooked lamb took the prize). However the real winner is the Creme Brulee! I've visited France and so have our dinner guests and we all agreed this is the best we've ever eaten. If you haven't tried this restaurant please do, it will become your favourite very quickly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hobart TAS Best French Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our chef's choices of 7 courses degustation "Haute Table" were simply amazing.
The local produce, presentation, taste, atmosphere and recommended French wine from the cellar were AAA++
Mr Remi himself was out chatting and recommended the wine.
Even on Thursday night it was quite busy with 8 tables 2-4
Very busy for Tassie standard :-D

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

For a start, the Creme Broulee is to die for (An absolute must).
The atmosphere is a little dark and gloomy and there is no easy way to pronounce what is on the menu but the staff were helpful and very pleasant.
I will say, the food is rich, lush & so delicious. Every course just melts in your mouth, from the pate to the steak and rabbit.
If you are after a romantic evening or a special meal with friends, then Remi de Provence is definitely a must.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Remi de Provence also viewed

 

Been to Remi de Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Remi de Provence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.