We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GReat Salmon with crispy skin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drunken Admiral

Drunken Admiral
17-19 Hunter Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
+61 3 6234 1903
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 460 Restaurants in Hobart
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: One of Hobart's iconic restaurants and is popular with both locals and visitors to Hobart alike. We are a family run restaurant and we have been operating since 1979 offering the diner a truly unique experience and very fresh and tasty Tassie seafood and meals. The restaurant is world renowned, features in many global travel guides and is always popular – so reservations are advised! Open 7 days a week with parking out front.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“GReat Salmon with crispy skin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were very happy with the Drunken Admiral as we were pretty hungry and didn't have to wait long for our meal. Mains average about 35 dollars and it is self serve salad bar. The salad bar is pretty basic and you have to pay for bread to accompany your meal. The scallops were disappointing as they weren't as filling or as plentiful as the grilled salmon. But it was quick and the service was good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    213
    99
    60
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Exceptional seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The atmosphere is one of fun and intriguing seafaring memorabilia. Fortunately the food lived up to expectations and the oyster surpassed any oysters I've ever eaten. The place is on the noisy side, and the journey to the toilets gives one a lesson in seafaring ways.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Ignore the decor!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I warn you - the decor may make you want to turn and run. It's dark, cluttered, hot and looks like a pirates theme park. But ignore that, and the sticky floors, and the extensive laminated menu. The food was delicious! We had steak (which was perfectly cooked but could have done with a bit more mash) and a seafood satay stir fry, which was so fresh and tasty. It was a really pleasant surprise on a very busy night in Hobart.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalla, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Yum - great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Fantastic meals - huge portions! We had the mixed seafood, the local catch of the day, and the wok-cooked satay fish. All were excellent.
The decor was also good - sitting inside half a fishing boat was a rather novel way to have dinner.
Make sure you book though - we went early in the week and were lucky to get a table!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Creek
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Six of us visited the Drunken Admiral on a recommendation from the receptionist at the Grand Chancellor Hotel. Best idea ever for our first night in Hobart. The food and the atmosphere were perfect. The waitresses really knew about the food and were extremely helpful and professional. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drunken Admiral also viewed

 

Been to Drunken Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drunken Admiral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.