We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don Camillo

Don Camillo
6 Magnet Court, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
(03) 6234 1006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 460 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Trip adviser gave this restaurant good reviews, so my husband and I tried it out.
I had the Eye fillet dish, which was cooked to perfection, the steak melted in your mouth.
My husband had a pasta dish again cooked to perfection as lots of restaurants get pasta dishes wrong.
This place is well worth a visit.

Mary

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Oldest established Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This wonderful restaurant opened its door way back in 1965 and is still extremely popular. If you do not want to be disappointed it is wise to make an advanced booking. The restaurant is now in the hands of a second generation. The food is excellent, likewise the service There is a small, but well selected wine list

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Our favourite local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Don Camillo is our favourite local restaurant. Totally dependable - fine food, great atmosphere and really friendly staff. Graziano and Dinosaur are on top of their game. We go back at least once a month.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous authentic Italian food in a busy, vibrant atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place was recommended to me by a client who used to regularly frequent Don Camillos with his wife for years until they moved away. I'd known where it was but had never been there, so took the plunge to see if it was as good as he'd suggested....it's now one of our favourite places!

Wonderful food, great atmosphere, friendly attentive staff - make sure you book though, as there's obviously lots of other people who know the secret!! The background noise can get quite loud as it's such a busy place, so probably recommended for larger groups rather than an intimate evening.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Questo e' perfetto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Based on a friends recommendation, we ventured here on a cold and windy Thursday night. Arriving around 7:30pm, there were only 2 or 3 tables left and the place was full of friendly chatter and laughter - a great welcome to a new restaurant experience.

We started the meal with garlic bruschetta and beers (Peroni of course!) before ordering mains. Along with one other, I ordered the pollo involtini whilst the 3rd in our party ordered the fettuccine ai funghi. All meals with very well presented and definitely on the large side, making them particularly good value I thought at around $25 for a main. The chicken was fantastic, stuffed with just enough peppers to make it a very filling dish.

Even though we were completely stuffed, we all still found enough room for some tiramisu which, much like the main, was a very generous serving. Finished off with a great cup of coffee, we all left very much satisfied and keen to return again soon.

Given that we only just scored a table walking in on a Thursday, I'd definitely recommend making a reservation on a Friday or Saturday night as I'd say they would be pretty busy!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Camillo also viewed

 

Been to Don Camillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Camillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.