We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Criterion St Cafe

Criterion St Cafe
10 Criterion St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
03-6234 5858
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 460 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Never disappoints ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I'm here for a week for work every 8 weeks & it's like coming home when I come here for breakfast, just wish I had more time to linger! Staff are super friendly & the coffee is great! Meals are large & yummy! Fresh juices too! Love you guys!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aussie in Europe
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Pros: Fantastic, filling meals, friendly staff, great hot chocolate, great location!

Cons: Can get a little busy and crowded at times and top floor seating can be a bit chilly if seated near the windows.

All in all a fantastic spot that we love to visit! As Molly would say "do yourself a favour.." ;)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stopped in for lunch after arriving in Hobart. Place was well presented with energetic service staff. We all enjoyed our food and drinks. Well presented food. The wife found the sweetness of the sugared pistachios in the cous cous too sweet for the dish, I however enjoyed eating them once she was done.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a happy discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Food and coffee were delicious. A cool little cafe on a side-street in the city.

We were walking past and decided to go in for a coffee before we left for the airport. But the food looked and smelt so good that we had a quick bite to eat.

The cinnamon salted caramel waffles were delicious as was the unusual savoury french toast.

My new favourite cafe in Hobart.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quick, very friendly staff and great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My boyfriend and I visited for brunch last week and were very impressed with the meal and the quick and friendly service - a lovely way to end a holiday.

We were bemused at the difficulty in finding a cafe open before 8am on a Saturday morning in Hobart, so when we did find Criterion St Cafe I asked how long the breakfast would take as we were heading to the airport. The coffees were out in a few minutes and the meals within ten - fantastic!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Criterion St Cafe also viewed

 
Hobart, Tasmania
 

Been to Criterion St Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Criterion St Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.