We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Grand!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Vue Private Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hobart
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Vue Private Hotel
Save
You added Grand Vue Private Hotel to your Saves list
8 Mona Street | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hobart B&B and Inns
Perth, Western Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply Grand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

We stayed in the downstairs waterview room - with sweeping views of the harbour. The view was breathtaking. The room was large, comfortable and very clean. As regards the service - it was meticulous. Every little extra and attention to detail was taken care of - chocolates, home made jams, lovely soaps in the bathroom - and everything was replenished. Nothing was too much trouble. We felt pampered, very welcome and the owners were not intrusive at all. In the evening a beautiful tray of fresh fruit and other food was placed in our fridge to enjoy in the morning for breakfast. Initially I was a little concerned about booking this hotel because of one unfavourable review posted in October 2008 - I am SO glad that I ignored that review and booked the Grand Vue Private Hotel. If you want a place that is small, quiet, very clean with stunning views of the harbour and service/attention to detail that is second to none then this is the place!

  • Liked — The attention to detail and amazing service from the hosts/owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    19
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
92
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

Stayed here in March with my Partner after purchasing some cheap flights through Tiger.

Its a little out of the centre of town however its only about a 5 - 10 minute walk to the centre and it means that you get fantastic peace and quiet while you are there. We stayed in the Turret Room which was great. Had fantastic views, All the things you need in the room and more.
We didnt see another guest the whole time we were there but then we were up and about early and didnt usually come back until late in the day when we would go out again.

Theres a fantastic Italian Restaurant just down the road as well as some very upmarket restaurants.

All in all would stay here again.

One bad thing though is the bed in the room had a foot board and being 6ft 4in i had to sleep at an angle.. very small gripe though . :o)

  • Liked — Supplies in the room, Views, Comfort
  • Disliked — Foot board on the bed
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney NSW
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

This is a superior B&B and not really a hotel. The level of service, location and high quality fitouts were great as was the extensive breakfast. It isn't setup for long stays but a night or a couple of nights and it is an ideal location to enjoy Hobart. We found the owners helpful and friendly.

  • Liked — Quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

We have just returned from 4 nights in the Grand Vue in Hobart.

We were delighted with the size of the room, the bathroom and above all with the magnificent views.

However we felt that for the price of the room, we were a little disappointed with a number of things that, if changed, could have made a pleasant enough stay into an excellent one.

We had the feeling that perhaps the owners had been doing this a little too long, and were no longer interested in making the guests feel welcome. We always had to ring the bell for service, and when we did, we got the impression that it was all an effort. For example, the DVD player was located in the top cupboard, and we needed to stand on a chair to access it. We had problems working it, and when we consulted the owner, found that he could not work it either. His comment was: " I cannot help you" and that was that.

We had not taken a computer and so could not access the wireless internet. A guest computer in the lounge would have been a useful addition. The lounge itself was unwelcoming, with an unlit fireplace with a 3 seater lounge facing it, in weather where an open fire would have been very pleasant. We never did see anyone making use of this space. In fact in 4 days, we saw one other couple in passing, although Grand Vue was apparently full. Of course this meant that it was very quiet and we were never disturbed.

The breakfast was adequate, but uninspiring. Toiletries were not replaced and we ran out of tissues. On our first day a small chocolate was placed on our bedside table, but not on any subsequent days. It would have been good to have a slight variation in breakfast supplies, a little chocolate to have with a cup of tea, and to have toiletries replaced. After all the tariff remained the same for each night.

Overall, we felt that the service was just not upper end of the market, but the price was. The position, views, size and cleanliness of the room were excellent. But we would not return as we felt we were an imposition on the owners. They were just not interested. In a B&B we like the personal touch. It was lacking.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

It's not the first time I've stayed there and it was as good as I remembered. It's really cozy, comfortable beds, very nice bathrooms and fittings and fantastic views. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gippsland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

We stayed at Grand Vue in August 2008 having found it on the internet after looking at dozens of other places. It looked great from their website (and was offering an excellent winter special rate) and even better when we arrived! We were upgraded to an upstairs Waterview Room (Room 4) and enjoyed the most wonderful panoramic views across the harbour in one direction and to snow-capped Mount Wellington in the other. Although the middle of winter and very cold outside, our room (and the whole hotel) was wonderfully warm with individually controlled central heating. The bathroom had a great shower and lovely fluffy white towels with heated towel racks - a nice touch. The bed was very comfortable and the room had a little kitchenette with a small fridge, sink, microwave, crockery, cutlery etc. kettle and toaster. This was useful since we were staying for 8 nights and didn't want to eat all our meals out (although you can order breakfast provisions for a very reasonable price if you wish). The whole place was spotlessly clean with quality fittings and furnishings throughout and an attention to detail that really stood out. The owners have obviously spent a great deal of time and effort (and money I would think!) on the place. Grand Vue is very quiet but only minutes from the great restaurants and cafes (and not forgetting the marvellous bakery!) in Battery Point. It's also just a short stroll to Salamanca Place and the harbour. The owners are friendly and helpful but not in the least intrusive. All in all, we though Grand Vue was just perfect and we wouldn't even bother looking at any other places the next time we visit Hobart.

  • Liked — Fabulous views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Booked through wotif.. great price!
One of the best places we stayed in Tassie!
Friendly hosts and fabulous continental brekky included!
Fabulous views from the rooms and lovely ambience to the hotel! Beautiful rooms comfy beds!!
Loved this place!

  • Liked — Free internet, friendy hosts, comfy rooms and great views
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Vue Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Vue Private Hotel

Address: 8 Mona Street | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004 , Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Vue Private
Grand Vue Private Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Vue Private Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.