We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Views and Quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Vue Private Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hobart
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Vue Private Hotel
8 Mona Street | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Hobart B&B and Inns
Melbourne Aust
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Location, Views and Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our experience of Grand Vue was very good indeed.
Location: walk to Hampden Road for several great breakfast options. 10 min walk to Salamanca Place and the docks for dozens of eating options. 15 min to walk onto the City. Mona Street is relatively quiet and there was no traffic noise in the back rooms. Battery Point is the best accommodation location in Hobart. (And I grew up in Hobart).
The executive suites have delightful views of the river and the corner suite has a view of the mountain as well. Big rooms,well-appointed and well-equipped. Beautifully restored Edwardian (?) house.
Parking is on-street via a permit from the owners. They gave us quite a bit of help with dining options.
Grand Vue in our opinion offers excellent value for money. We visit Hobart annually and will now use it as our preferred accommodation option. And we liked the muffins.

Room Tip: Upstairs executive suites - the NW corner is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    19
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
85
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way to Cradle Mountain. We arrived late due to our delayed flight which wasn't a problem. An easy 5min walk to Salamanca where we got a late dinner. The view from our room was amazing and very romantic. we had breakfast supplies in our room and they were happy to accomodate my gluten free requirements. The room was spacious and very clean.

Fantastic location and reasonable priced. Would stay here again

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a water view - worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel while tucked away in the back streets of Battery Point is still close enough to Salamanca Markets and the square is still a bit of a walk to the main shops of Hobart. The hotel is very clean, very quiet and has a view to die for HOWEVER the very stuck up snobby half dead man owner "John" leaves very little to write nice things about. He has about as much personality as an ice cube or pick depending on whether you meet his criteria. When we got there he showed us very quickly and very briefly some locations of where we are and how to get there etc etc unfortunately we missed a few pointers and my husband had to go and ask him the next day where the steps were again he replied " I showed you yesterday and marked it on the map I gave you" shame on us for being hot and tired and not paying attention. NOW be careful if you are there for a little romantic weekend because JOHN thinks its ok to tap softly on your door and if he doesn't hear you respond he just lets himself in.....1st time my husband caught him as he was just about to walk in and we were like whoa !!! 2nd time we had had a big day out on the water very hot and very tired we got back had a shower and (room 4. Executive water view room is so hot and stuffy) decided to have an afternoon snooze ...naked... We had the tv and a fan on and again JOHN tapped softly on the door to which we did not hear and did not respond to being as we were asleep and he lets himself in again.....my husband raced for the bathroom and I threw something on really quickly and asked him to please not do this again....to which he replied " I knocked" WHO CARES whilst the gesture of giving the guests a small cake is really very nice you cannot do this to guests and when we checked out he still didn't get it that you can't do this find another way to deliver your treats. And he would NOT APOLOGISE in any way shape or form his wife did but he was adamant to the end that he had done nothing wrong "I do this everyday " says he.

Room Tip: If you want privacy go elsewhere and their is no air con so the rooms are very hot and stuffy. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Grand Vue during our visit to Hobart. Everything about the hotel was beyond our expectations. The location was perfect. Battery Point is a beautiful location and there are nice places to eat close by. Salamanca Market is also a short walk away. The building itself is beautiful and tastefully appointed with quality features. Our room was amazing and the views were breathtaking. We also loved the added touch of the delicious hot muffins delivered to our room. I highly recommend this accommodation. I could not find a single fault.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a long weekend at the Grand Vue Private Hotel in Hobart. The hotel has very well appointed rooms with stunning views and is only a pleasant 10 minute walk past pubs and cafes to Salamanca Market. There is an optional huge continental breakfast and evening delivery of muffins and the setting of this restored mansion in a quiet street makes for a more private and personal experience. The owners are very helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Water view rooms have large floor to ceiling views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My partner and just returned from a wonderful weekend in hobart where we stayed at the Grand Vue Private Hotel. The property is a beautiful mansion in the heart of Battery Point, a 10 minute walk to Salamanca Market. Our room was nothing short of amazing, both of us gasped audiably as we walked in and took in the view (room 4)! Room and bathroom were large and spotless, and the bed was comfortable. There is a little hideaway kitchenette, that had everything you would need for a weekend stay. The hosts are friendly and efficient and only there when you need something, which is the way we like it. I would not hesitate in recommending this place to others or staying there again next time we are in Hobart!

Room Tip: If you want an amazing view you can't go wrong with room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend in Hobart at the Grande Vue private hotel and feel as though we've returned from a weeks holiday. The property is in Battery Point which is a stunning location full of character and history so you get to see a different side of Hobart. The building itself is a wonderful grand building which is quiet, private and peaceful.

Our room was Room No 4 - which has the most magnificent views. The view hits you immediately as you walk in, it's not just of the water but wraps all the way around to Mount Wellington - stunning. The room itself was large and very comfortable with a small but modern and perfectly adaquate ensuite bathroom, and a kitchenette so you can make yourself some coffee and toast in the morning. The freshly made muffins that are delivered each evening are delicious and the smell emanates throughout the hotel making it cosy and homely.

The owners are extremely discreet and polite. Nothing is too much trouble and they certainly allow you privacy which sometimes doesn't happen in a smaller B&B type establishment. We know the hotel was full but we didn't see anyone else the whole weekend - that could have been something to do with our schedule rather than the others - but it was certainly quiet.

A short 10 minute walk to Salamanca place and the foreshore, this could not be a better location for a weekend stay. I highly recommend Grand Vue and all it has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Vue Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Vue Private Hotel

Address: 8 Mona Street | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004 , Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Vue Private
Grand Vue Private Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Vue Private Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grand Vue Private Hotel to your Saves list