We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and very comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battery Point Boutique Accommodation

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Battery Point Boutique Accommodation to your Saves list
Battery Point Boutique Accommodation
27-29 Hampden Road, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location and very comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We always stay here when in Hobart. The location is unbeatable. Battery Point has so much charm and you can easily walk down to Salamanca and the city. The apartments are tastefully decorated and have all the comforts of home.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was so pleased that I had booked into this accommodation. Right from my first email to Betty, the manager, I couldn't have been more pleased, she was just so helpful. I had everything I could want in this very pleasant apartment and it was close to all that I planned to do, even the ferry to Mona (a must see). I left the car in the car park and walked everywhere.
Salamanca place is just down the hill behind the apartment and to get there you walk through Arthurs Circus a delightful reminder of the history of this part of Hobart.
I agree with everything previous reviews have said. I loved it.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Comfortable, clean, everything you could need for a really great stay. A great little walk to Salamanca Market and Hobarts waterfront. Wonderfull strolling aroung the quaint area of Battery Point. We had a 2 bedroom apartment and my parents the 1 bedroom next door on ground level. I found it hard to sleep because of the road noise on the Friday night but my parents didn't. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is situated in a great location. Within easy walking distance of Salamanca and city centre. There are plenty of places to eat in the same street bakery (awesome), Indian (really good) and Shippies pub around the corner for a pub meal. Also a few other places to eat which we didn't try.

The area has beautiful old homes, mostly Georgian period. I would highly recommend a walk around the suburb if you enjoy looking at old houses. There is also a beautiful old Anglican church on the hill. It's steeple can be seen from almost anywhere in Battery Point.

The apartment is very clean and comfortable. There was a good size TV, DVD player and plenty of space to be comfortable. A variety of DVD's and books were also provided.

The small kitchen had everyhing you needed if you wanted to cook or just have a cuppa.

The bathroom was a bit tired but very clean and had everything you needed. Don't let this put you off as it wasn't bad just don't except a brand new bathroom.

There was a washer and dryer and washing powder was provided.

There is off street parking behind the apartments.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We visit Hobart almost every year and each time we stay here, at least 6 or 7 times so far. We love this place firstly for its convenience to everything. Battery Point is the only place to stay in Hobart, quiet and safe and filled with beautiful old cottages and friendly locals. THis place backs onto Arthurs Circus and it is only a 5 min stroll up the road and down the Kelly steps and you are in Salamanca and the waterfront. Betty is an extremely friendly and accommodating host, nothing is too much trouble. We were able to check in early and leave our car for a little longer when we checked out. The 4 apartments have everything you need for a comfortable stay, its has a very homely feel with lots of privacy. They have just updated the TV's which is great! Its so good to have a washing machine too. Our two favourite places to eat are barely 100 metres up the road. Firstly D Angelos restuarant, where we eat every night we are here because be love the authentic italian food, Calzone! Yum. Secondly Jackman & McRoss bakery, closest you will find to a French Patisserie anywhere! Breakfast or morning tea here is a must. Betty and Roger you are a credit to your profession and hope to see you again next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar, just depends if you want to be upstairs with a view or ground to avoid the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Betty was a pleasure to deal with when booking our accommodation for our stay at Battery Point Boutique Accommodation. We stayed in apartment 4 upstairs and it was clean and comfortable with everything we needed for our 3 night visit to Hobart. As there were so many cafes and restaurants around we didn't bother with cooking although the kitchen was well equipped if we'd wanted to cook. If you don't want to go too far, the takeaway from the Indian restaurant a few metres up the road was excellent. Apart from our visit to MONA we didn't bother to use our car as everything we wanted to see and do was within walking distance. (And on the subject of MONA, don't miss it - the stunning architecture of building itself is well worth the visit, let alone the art.). We would definitely return to this accommodation again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

A colleague recommended this accomodation. I phoned Betty a few hours before our planned arrival in Hobart and she made our booking for appartment number 4. She first asked if we were ok with an upstairs unit. We were and were delighted with it. In particular we loved the positioning of the windows that allowed that clear Hobart light to flow into the rooms. The kitchen was adequately equipped but with the selection of eateries (in or take away) close by we weren't too bothered about cooking. The lounge room was very comfortable and even had a few popular dvds and novels available. The bed and bedding all good, firm and clean and sufficient storage space. Small tv in bedroom. Bathroom/laundry fairly cramped but not uncomfortably so. Heated towel rail, a washing machine and wire dryer were very useful.
Although the building is right on the street there was very little noise - loudest being the early morning joggers! It might be a bit noisier in the ground floor appartments but probably not much.
The location is truly lovely. House next door is heritage listed, Arthur's Circus and Princess Park are delightful green spaces. As others have said Salamanca Mkts a 5-10 mins stroll downhill.
Parking at the rear, cramped and not for the faint hearted. Street parking is very limited.
Suggestions: given the proximity to the street and other houses and the attraction of the light filled spaces ... provide robes. This following suggestion is a universal for me: please provide a coffee plunger or drip fliter. Australia has a marvellous coffee culture .. not many people drink instant and not everyone wants to have to go out for their caffine hit first thing in the morning.
Complaint: all four cups were filthy.

Room Tip: If mobile, go for the upstairs appartments.for the quality of the light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Battery Point Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Point Boutique Accommodation

Address: 27-29 Hampden Road, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern fully self-contained apartments with off street parking in the heart of Battery Point, one of the most historic, stylish and sought after locations in Tasmania. Nearby is a rich selection of restaurants and cafes. Hobart's waterfront & Salamanca market are 200m away from the front door. This description is based on information provided by the specialty lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Battery Point Boutique Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battery Point Boutique Accommodation Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battery Point Boutique Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.