We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pickled frog - don't stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Pickled Frog

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Pickled Frog to your Saves list
The Pickled Frog
281 Liverpool Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The pickled frog - don't stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Rooms are dirty. Looks like the mattress protectors haven't been washed in years. It's not worth the money you pay!
However, the staff are very helpful and they do have a free tour to Mt Wellington on Monday and Thursdays.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod7313, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Trusty

In anything you ever do in life, where ever it is, whatever it is, if you are not having the experience you desire, COMMUNICATE. You will find that everything becomes a lot easier.
There is not a business around that would not like to hear your issues WHILE THEY CAN DO SOMETHING TO FIX THEM. Whining and whinging after the fact does nothing to help anybody.

I write this not just to you, but to anyone who thinks review writing is a worthwhile cause. If you, Trusty, had come to reception and voiced your concerns we could have fixed your issues in less than 1 minute. No business wants to run poorly or wants their customers to have a bad experience. Likewise, no business will get it 100% right every time.

I am sorry your experience was not a good one and if it was possible I would like to make it up to you...but you said nothing when you were here so I cant. No winners here today. So what was the value of your review?

Communicate, communicate, communicate. Then we'd have both been winners. Just a different perspective for the reviewer world to think about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    30
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
1
13
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Turned up on the day and the guy on reception was really helpful and booked us in for 1 night in a private double - $67. He was really knowledgeable on Tasmania. The room was OK, it had a bed and a sink. The bathrooms were clean but the showers were cold - both in the evening and the morning which wasn't so good. There is free parking. Didn't make use of the common areas or the kitchen but they looked OK. The hall ways were painted with different patterns etc which was nice. The location was also good and could get around on foot. I could see they offered trips and had a board with cheap deals for the day which was also good!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Cold showers, dirty room, grotty pillows, dusty social spaces - not sure why Hobart can't produce a good hostel! On the positives, there was free internet access, the staff were friendly, the sheets were clean, there was free parking, its in town and the bar was convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Fantastic hostel! Such a unique and awesome place.
Was so great to stay at hostel where the people working there are genuinely proud of the place and a make a conscious effort to not only continue to improve the place but make sure everyone is happy and taken care of.
Rod, Jimmy and Emma are some of the kindest hostel owners you will ever come across. Have done a great job with what is clearly an older building and have made it a cool, funky homely hang out where punters can relax in the friendly ambience that is the Pickled Frog.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed at the Pickled Frog last weekend. The staff were helpful and the place had a nice feel about it overall. The location is good and it is easy to get to all the main attractions on foot. The beds were surprisingly comfortable, so a good night's sleep was had.

I understand that the hostel provides cheap accommodation, but the main negative for us was that the hostel is rather tired looking and could do with a bit of an overhaul. While we were there I saw that workmen were laying new laminate flooring outside the dorms, so it did look like it was being spruced up a bit in time for summer. I also noticed that there was no hot water in the morning when I woke up, I'm not sure if this is the case every morning or was just a one off. Luckily I'd showered the night before, so it wasn't a massive issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hey there!

Firstly, thankyou for choosing The Frog as your accommodation in Hobart.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good nights sleep.

The Frog is situated within a very old building, as most of the businesses in Hobart are and it is what we believe gives it its character.
As you have pointed out there are some areas within the building that are somewhat 'tired' looking and it is these areas that we are currently renovating and improving as you would have noticed during your stay with us. We are hoping to have it all finished before summer hits and we are currently bang on schedule.
Old buildings require a lot of maintenance and although we would sincerely love to we are not able to undergo a complete building make over as it is still a functioning business.
Each year we designate our time during the winter months to spruce up certain areas of the building so within a couple of years, if you're to visit again, I'm sure that you'll be very impressed with the way The Frog is looking.

As for the hot water situation i can assure you that this is not normally an issue. However, as with any form of shared accommodation when a large number of people are using the showers and sinks (in bathrooms and kitchen) consistently within a short space of time the hot water will run out for a small period. It takes about 20 minutes for the hot water cylinders to re-heat then it's all good to go again :)

Enjoy the rest of your travels!

Cheers

The Frog team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Good location, Emma and Jimmy at the desk know the best local places for food & drink. Room was good, lounge areas spacious, computers work well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I've stayed at the Picked Frog regularly while delivering oysters in Hobart and always find it welcoming and friendly with an excellent backpacker vibe. The facilities are good with a large lounge and big TV with DVD's, pool table, and very large kitchen. Bathroom's are clean and there are plenty of toilets/showers.

Jimmy and Emma at the desk are most helpful, laid-back and welcoming. I would especially recommend staying in winter when the place gets quiet (like all of Hobart) and you can get to know them better.

It is a 5 minute walk to the city center and a block away from delicious $10 pub meals.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pickled Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickled Frog

Address: 281 Liverpool Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Pickled Frog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pickled Frog Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pickled Frog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.