We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“.....run while you can...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Brunswick Hotel

Save Saved
You added Brunswick Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brunswick Hotel
67 Liverpool Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 54 Specialty lodging in Hobart
Cork
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“.....run while you can...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Cold....freezing cold....dirty.....smelly.....dated.....don't be fooled by the exterior!! Extremely over priced....good location! Electricity cut out during the night so we had no power until 9.30 am...this was in June with no heater in the room! Would be ok if the price was right for the service offered

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Brunswick Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Yes we have had some issues with electricity in some of the rooms. This has been addressed with the re wiring of these rooms to cope with the greater use of power for heating the rooms and our guests other electrical equipment. We also have an after hours contact number for any issues during the night that guests can call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    21
    11
    17
See reviews for
1
21
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
south island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

i have to say the Brunswick is friendly and well located. I stayed in a double ensuite, which was great. Hot water, good heater and good quality linen. worth the extra for ensuite for sure. less good was the noise - but then this is a busy pub - and the smell of the fried food from the restaurant on arrival. my friend had a less good experience in her double room - the electrics all failed on her second night - meaning no light, no heater and no way to charge her phone or read in bed. not great. the management said they knew this was a problem, the circuit clearly plays up often enough - and they moved her to another room for the last night. it was a shame that the way this was handled was not very personal, perhaps an offer of a drink at the bar or maybe a discount for a future stay?? something to make us feel compensated. old buildings are never easy to manage - and these things happen - but it was a freezing cold weekend and my friend was very good humoured about the whole thing. sadly i therefore would not recommend staying here, even though it is well located.

Room Tip: must do the ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Brunswick Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and disappointed that your friend did not have the same experience. Are you able to email me their contact details so that I can follow up with them? bookings@jargroup.com.au
We were having some issues with the electrics of some of our rooms and the load of the heaters plus guests other electrical equipment; this has now been addressed with the re wiring of the rooms to coped with the greater load of heating the rooms and our guests other electrical equipment being used in the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

It is one of the best located hostels in town. Only few minutes walk to the waterfront, Town Hall and at the heart of the shopping belt. Across the street are the shopping malls. Downstair is the Australia's second oldest's pub. It is a hundred year's old building needed to be renovated. The dorm have only a small portable heating fan for keeping warm. The corridor, toilets, bathroom are very cold. The common place is mainly a partially covered open court. The kitchen is big but very basic. You cannot found out a fork to use. The kitchen is not cleaned daily (Please remember on the ground floor there is a affiniated pub). The price is cheap but need a lot of improvement. The receptionists are nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Brunswick Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
We have purchased some additional cutlery to top up what we have in our communal kitchen. Our cleaners do clean the kitchen every morning between 930am & 1030am, I will look into if this needs to be done more than once a day. We do try to ask our guests to clean up after themselves in the common areas, but this does not always happen.
Hobart does get cold throughout the winter, we will look at ways to keep the areas of the Hotel/Hostel as warm as possible during this time.
Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Only stay here if you are not spending any time in the room and just using it for sleep! We shared a double room with no ensuite so had to share bathroom and toilet facilities - for these. Ensure you wear shoes!
There were no teas provided and the fridge was nt working.
However it's in a good location and its very cheap!

Room Tip: Ask for an ensuite and at the front of the building not the back near the communal area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Brunswick Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
My apologies that there were no teas in your room and your fridge did not work; did you let the staff know at reception? I will ensure all the fridges are checked and working. Thank you for your feedback.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Supposed to have been renovated but we still think it is a bit old/worn. Clean linen and comfortable bed. Reasonably sized rooms. Great location to eateries and supermarket. You need to pay another AUD20 to enjoy ensuite bath.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Brunswick Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are continuing to update our rooms and common areas. We will be posting some new images in the coming week. We hope that you like what we are doing and that you will come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are very small, no fridge or television and unable to access free wifi. On street parking is a nightmare and the noise from backpackers is unbearable. What else can you expect for $65 a night in the CBD

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Brunswick Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, All of our private rooms do have a fridge in the room and our en suite rooms have a TV.
We have just updated our WiFi network so that guests can now connect in all rooms as well as in the common areas.
Being right in the heart of the city can make street parking a challenge. We do have Hobart's largest car park across the street and it is open from 7am - 10pm. With the loading zones and meters becoming free parking after 6pm street parking is easier after this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We're a couple in our early 30s who are well traveled throughout europe, america and australia. We stayed a couple of nights here in March. Having never visited Hobart before, it was a great location to be able to easily walk to all the attractions we wanted to see, plus nice to have a drink before heading out on a Saturday night! Basic accommodation and rooms but perfect for what we were after. Would recommend to others to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Brunswick Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Glad that you enjoyed Hobart and staying with us at The Brunswick Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon and helping you explore more of Hobart & Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brunswick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunswick Hotel

Address: 67 Liverpool Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 54 Specialty lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brunswick Hotel is one of the last remaining hotels that once graced Liverpool Street. Established in 1827, twenty years after the settlement of Hobart, the hotel represents an important part of this country’s social history. The Brunswick Hotel bar boosts eight different beers on tap that includes Cascade Brewery’s finest beers (the oldest brewery in Australia), an evolving section of some of Tasmanian’s premium red and white wines both by the glass and bottle. The Brunswick Hotel also provides very fairly priced Hotel rooms that are the perfect choice for a centrally located Hobart stay. Our en-suite rooms come equipped with a fridge, tea & coffee and a flat screen TV. Our restaurant headed up by one of Hobart’s premium chefs, Tony Gamble, who has produced a menu that exemplifies locally sourced produce, meat, seafood and cheeses. These dishes leads themselves to be shared between friends or indulge on some of our pub classics, such as Marrawah Steak sandwich, our own Brunswick Lamb Burger, grilled calamari and our own hand cut fries. The Brunswick Hotel is the perfect place for a casual every day lunch and dinner catch-up or unwind. Not to mention a ‘Hobart Getaway’ for the weekend. With the longest chesterfield in Tassie (second longest in the world), comfy leather booths or tradition "sit at the bar" seating, we are ready for you at Hobart’s newest friendly local hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Brunswick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunswick Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brunswick Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.