We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Louisa's walk nice way to experience history tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Louisa's Walk

Louisa's Walk
Cascade Brewery (starts from outside) | 140 Cascade Road, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
+61 3 6229 8959
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Louisa's Walk is a piece of Strolling Theatre or Walking Play that takes you on a journey into the life of Louisa Ragan, an Irish convict, sent to Van Diemen's Land on a seven year sentence, in 1841, for stealing a loaf of bread. You walk with the actors as they tell Louisa's story. You will meet Louisa outside the famous Cascade Brewery building in South Hobart. You will walk through the beautiful Cascade Gardens along to the World Heritage listed Cascades Female Factory Historic Site where Louisa was imprisoned. Once you enter those locked gates, they are shut behind you and you experience life in this harsh prison. You may laugh and you may cry but you will remember Louisa's story!
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Louisa's walk nice way to experience history tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The tour was very informative, sometimes when on a tour it can get a bit monotone, but because they are the characters it makes it for a much more interested tour and history lesson

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    55
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“History Alive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

What a brilliant and interesting way to discover some of our little known history. We all know that women were shipped to the colonies but we didnt know their stories. Thanks to the two brilliant actors of Louisa's Walk we now have a small insight into that ugly part of our history. Beautiful setting with a poignant story. Well done and thoroughly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Totally immerse yourself if convict life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I took my kids on this tour to learn about the plight of female convicts. It was great. The tour guides acting out various roles and we walked around the historic sites. Great tour and good value for money. My kids loved it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Making history come alive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you ever weanted to experience what life must have been like for early settlers and convicts in Hobart Town - this is it. Wonderful performers with an empathy for storytelling at it's best. Poignant and true to life it is an experience that young and old will appreciate.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Something completely different.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed in nearby Richmond and were looking for a tour of Hobart. Most took tourists to see Richmond, so we decided on a self tour of Hobart and go on Louisa's Walk instead. We had never experienced anything like this before, so it was quite unusual to start. Beginning under the imposing Cascade Brewery and meandering through beautiful parkland with regular theatrical stops seemed a bit surreal. We were soon drawn into the hisstory being enacted and I have to say I had a good respect and admiration for the actor's ability and for the way they presented the story. A very enjoyable couple of hours.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louisa's Walk also viewed

 

Been to Louisa's Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louisa's Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.