We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sorell Fruit Farm

Sorell Fruit Farm
174 Pawleena Road, Hobart, Tasmania 7172, Australia
61 3 6265 2744
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 93 Activities in Hobart
Type: Farms, Ranch & Farm
Attraction details
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delightful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

According to the info on the website, January should be the harvest season for numerous kinds of fruits. However, we arrived to find that there are only strawberries, apples and pears. I am really disappointed cos cherry is my target. I could only desperately buy a box of cherries from the shop and honestly speaking, it is just so and so - maybe the season is over.

I intended to leave and thanks for my friend who asked me to stay and pick other fruits. It is wonderful experience to pick and then eat the fresh strawberries in different species. Also, we managed to get two apricots!

A plus is the farm had a cafe providing great food! We had a yummy lunch!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    5
    0
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A non-starter”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Worth a phone call first to confirm what there is to pick before making a trip out. I was told quite honestly by the woman serving, that it was too late in the season for raspberries and that there were not too many strawberries either. Bought myself a raspberry sorbet as a consolation, only to find the waffle cone was the best part of it. Talk about fake! Obviously commercial, but unforgivable even so. Save time- drive by.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Yummiest strawberries ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

When we went in late January they only had strawberries and a few apples and pears for harvesting. The entry fee was reduced because of this. We had a great time picking strawberries. There were quite a few different varieties of strawberries. Didn't see very many good-looking apples and pears. Definitely worth a stop on the way to Port Arthur.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“good fruit picking, but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

if you go at the right time, you will be able to pick amazing fruit, however it is now so popular that the fruit can be quite sparse, and the prices have skyrocketed unfortuntely. however the experience of picking your own delicious fresh fruit is still fantastic!

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“pic nic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

we stopped to buy fruit fro a picnic, the lady "lent" us two plastic spoons to help out! Superb avocado...

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorell Fruit Farm also viewed

 

Been to Sorell Fruit Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sorell Fruit Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.