We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clydesdale Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Clydesdale Manor to your Saves list
Clydesdale Manor
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   292 Sandy Bay Road, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

What a great place to stay. Has the feel of a B&B but is a gorgeous old mansion with only 7 rooms. I was welcomed so warmly by Bronwyn and Rachel who were friendly and full of great suggestions of places to go and eat. Breakfast is cooked for you so none of this "big hotel warmed up" food. Just a delightful place that I will definitely stay at again. Close to town - only a 10-15 min walk into Salamanca market

Room Tip: I had a room on the side of the building so heard no noise at all from the main street out front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    25
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
140
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

What a great place! More hotels and boutique hotels should be like this place. We only stayed one night but would certainly have stayed more if we had had the time. The location is wonderful and so convenient to Battery Point, the rooms are lovely, clean and very comfortable. Contrary to an older review on here about the the costs of the mini bar, I would have to say that the mini bar prices are the most reasonable I have ever seen and are more focussed on providing guests with the convenience of a snack or chocolate bar, wine etc rather than making huge profits. We will certainly be back next we are in Hobart!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Friends and I just spent the Nov 30 / Dec 1st, 2013, weekend in Hobart at the Clydesdale Manor. We were very disappointed with the interior decor. Most of the furnishings were appropriate for the Georgian mansion, but someone has been seriously misguided in the selection of artwork in the rooms and sitting areas. They had ultra modern paintings by a local artist which did NOT fit into the elegant setting we'd hoped to find. To top that off, the "holiday" decorations were pathetic, if not down right laughable...!! There was a black feather boa gracing the fireplace mantel with additional floral arrangements of large black feathery sprigs and orange ornaments. The "Christmas tree" had orange glittery balls and limp, straggly garland. It looked like a very lame Halloween effort, definitely not an elegant Christmas theme. The rooms were comfortable with modern adjoining baths. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic. The hostest and chef were very gracious and friendly. We enjoyed talking with them as we planned our day and enjoyed the lovely garden view as we ate the elegant breakfast. - Overall, it's a wonderful old mansion converted to a unique hotel. It's just lacking the elegance that a "practical" professional decorator could give it. Retaining the grace of the historical facility is more important than trying to make a mark for being unique or different. If I wanted to stay in an ultra modern hotel, I'll go to a modern hotel. If I select a classic Georgian facility, I expect the interior elegance that should accompany that type of selection. Clydesdale Manor has some work to do on their interior decor, especially for the holidays..!! - KS, Atlanta, GA, USA

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I will look to nowhere else to stay if i want to visit the Hobart region. I am a big fan of Bed & Breakfast and will choose to stay in one instead of the traditional big hotel chains.
Clydesdale Manor is the best B&B where i had ever stayed.
Wonderful hospitality shown by Wayne and Lynne who are such great hosts who make sure that you feel like home at Clydesdale and Wayne has a wicked sense of humour :)
The premise and the room are so well maintained, absolutely spotless and amazingly comfortable that allows a good recharge after a whole day of visiting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Clydesdale Manor provides the perfect recipe for a trip to Hobart. A beautiful, warm and comfortable house, in a great location with kind and generous hosts. Lynne & Wayne made us feel completely at home. We can't wait to return to Hobart and Clydesdale !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

What you get from The Clydesdale Manor are two hosts (Wayne & Lyne) who go over and above expectations to make sure you have an enjoyable stay not only in the B&B, but also in Hobart.

The house is beautiful and the rooms full of charm. Their is also a drawing room with a log fire that you can relax and unwind beside.

Waynes breakfasts are out of this world and wouldn't look out of place at a top restaurant. This coupled with recommendations for evening meals, things to do, etc made for a thoroughly enjoyable stay..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Wayne and Lynne went out of their way to make sure everything was comfortable and convenient for us. All their suggestions were helpful and informative--they seemed very invested in making sure we had the best possible visit to Hobart.

The walk from here to the heart of Salamanca is pleasant and probably takes about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clydesdale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clydesdale Manor

Address: 292 Sandy Bay Road, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clydesdale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Clydesdale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clydesdale Manor Hobart, Tasmania
Clydesdale Manor Hotel Hobart

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clydesdale Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.