We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clydesdale Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Clydesdale Manor to your Saves list
Clydesdale Manor
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   292 Sandy Bay Road, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

If you are staying a few nights in Hobart, Clydesdale Manor would be hard to beat. This elegant period home is a nice walk from Salamanca and offers the complete experience.
The rooms are beautifully appointed and thoughtfully restored. Lynne and Wayne are warm and welcoming proprietors who generously share knowledge, advice, books, music and food during your stay. In short they spoil you.
Whether you are working or touring, Clydesdale Manor, complete with its gorgeous gardens proves to be a wonderful retreat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    25
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
140
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Spent two nights in this beautiful residence within walking distance of Salamanca. Very comfortable and very well appointed with relaxing garden surrounds. The hosts Wayne and Lynne are exceptional with ready advice on things worthwhile seeing, very accurate information on local restaurants, service without pressure and breakfasts that are not only delicious but will happily see you through a days touring.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell there were NO bad rooms. Downstairs with a view of Mt Wellington was the pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived until we left Wayne was very helpful. We felt welcome in their home and for a young couple this was nice as we've had our fair share of bad experiences.

On check-in we were surprised to find ourselves upgraded to a King Room at the front of this grand manor house. Being on a main road in Sandy Bay I was pleasantly surprised to have a quiet sleep thanks to the double glazing. The room pleasantly twisted in modern benefits like under-floor heating and a flat screen TV. The only improvement I could think would be nice if the fireplace could be used separate to the room hearing as in winter this would add heaps of charm to this room.

Breakfast was memorable - coconut pancakes and rhubarb parfait. A few improvements to make this better; have milk jugs available for those who use the coffee plungers as we had to use the cereal milk which mean't I had to keep getting up to add milk to our cups or like another B&B offer us fresh made expresso coffee we liked this touch at another B&B recently. Also you have to order breakfast the night before. This is somewhat common in motels but not in B&B's. For some people like my husband or me during pregnancy you never know what you want until breakfast time, and the lack of unprepared or cooked options was limited. We would have been happy to help ourselves to a few items such as fresh fruit, multiple cereals and yoghurt. The cereals offered were unappealing and more spreads for toast lime at least honey would have made this better for us.

All in all though we found this one of the better B&B's we've stayed in and was perfect location to check out Hobart.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Wayne & Lynne's Clydesdale Manor ticked all the boxes online but this impressive B&B exceeded our expectations from our warm welcome on arrival and through our four day taste of Hobart and surrounds.

Wayne enthusiastically helped us with our luggage to our secluded spa suite (clean, spacious, nicely furnished upstairs room with queen size bed, en suite & balcony) at the rear of the building which overlooks the garden. We also got a guided tour of the 19th century manor. We were particularly impressed with the majestic sitting room (downstairs off the hallway) with the toasty fireplace and the breakfast area, which looks out onto the tranquil garden.

A changing breakfast menu was printed daily with our names on the request form - a small but, we felt, significant personal touch.The breakfasts, made by W&L, were incredible, with a strong focus on using local Tassie ingredients. Over two breakfasts at the manor we had ham & egg parcels, coconut pancakes with fresh fruit & passionfruit sauce, mushrooms on toasted Panini...and my favourite: the scrambled eggs & ham with thick pieces of toast.

Location was also excellent - less than 10 mins walk to Battery Point, 20 min walk to Salamanca & city area and many great local eateries of various cuisines & budgets to choose from within 15 mins walk. There were also a couple of supermarkets within walking distance open until midnight. Clydesdale also made a good base for our daytrips by car to Mt Wellington, Richmond (old bridge), Bonorong Wildlife Park (loads of rescued wildlife including devils), MONA, Cadbury Factory & Port Arthur. Our hosts also suggested some in-between points of interest that we would otherwise have missed.

Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Lynne & Wayne were extremely hospitable & friendly. They were always quick to make helpful suggestions for where to eat for example & nothing was too much trouble.
It is a beautiful property externally & the inside decor & furnishings, excellent.
The breakfast was scrumptious!

Room Tip: We had a room upstairs which had a good view & was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed for 6 nights in an Upstairs Deluxe Room whilst in Hobart for a conference @ the nearby Wrest Point Hotel.
The location is a convenient 5 min walk to Wrest Point Hotel Complex and about a 20 min walk to Salamanca Markets.
Lynne and Wayne were most helpful and welcoming.Nothing was too much to ask of them.
Advice as to sightseeing , dining and even as to where to buy a nice bottle of Tasmanian Pinot Noir was given in such a friendly manner.
Their heritage B&B was spotlessly clean and so elegantly restored.The garden was beautiful also.
My room was beautifully furnished and had soft wool carpet and a compact but luxurious ensuite bathroom.The complementary toiletries were of a high standard.The towels were soft and fluffy and presented in a beautiful manner.
The breakfast prepared by Wayne was delicious and is worth paying the $20 as a treat.
I would recommend this accommodation to anyone seeking a special indulgence whilst staying in Hobart.

Romola...Perth WA

Room Tip: book a room downstairs if you have problems with mobility as the stair case to upstairs rooms could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Clydesdale Manor is a lovely old property in Hobart. Approx 15 to 20 minutes walk from Salamanca and the Harbour Area, but with other shops and restaurants nearby. The rooms and bathrooms are first class, and there is a warm welcome from Wayne and Lynne the owners. Wayne's breakfasts are creative and delicious and really set you up for the day. We stayed 3 nights and found plenty to do in the Hobart area, and then relaxed in the lounge at Clydesdale Manor in the evenings in comfort and in front of a log fire. Thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay in Hobart.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clydesdale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clydesdale Manor

Address: 292 Sandy Bay Road, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clydesdale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Clydesdale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clydesdale Manor Hobart, Tasmania
Clydesdale Manor Hotel Hobart

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clydesdale Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.