We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clydesdale Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Clydesdale Manor to your Saves list
Clydesdale Manor
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   292 Sandy Bay Road, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I stay here regularly when travelling to Hobart on business. Always exceptional service, no more need be said.

Room Tip: the spa room downstairs at the back of the house has its own door on to the garden and semi private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    21
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
128
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed staying at the Clydesdale for 3 nights. The hosts were lovely and Wayne helped us with restaurants and the sights. Our room was upstairs and quite comfortable. Fresh milk for tea and coffee was a big plus as was the heated bathroom floors. Extremely clean. Although we didn't have breakfast, I felt that $17.50 would be fine if you were having a hot breakfast but too costly for some toast/cereal (we are only light breakfast eaters). The setting for breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We stayed at Clydesdale Manor for the first three nights of our Tasmanian holiday in December 2011. To say we were delighted would be an understatement. From the moment we arrived we were impressed by the evident attention to detail, lovely service and wonderful atmosphere. Clydesdale Manor perfectly navigates the space between elegance and comfort and Wayne and Lynne are wonderful hosts of the highest order. The breakfasts cooked by Wayne were an absolute highlight of our stay and highly, highly recommended. Our room was lovely and spacious with a view of Mount Wellington, and featured a great bathroom and very comfortable king bed. The small touches were also appreciated - tealight candles lit in the evenings, fresh flowers, a lovely sitting room with an open fire where you can request wine etc. We were also given excellent recommendations about where to eat and what to see during the rest of our journey. Staying at Clydesdale was one of the highlights of our Tassie holiday and we'll be hightailing it back when we visit Hobart next.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

we stayed at clydesdale for 3 nights early dec. and enjoyed our stay thoroughly. even before we arrived, i had prompt and amusing email correspondences with wayne. when we got there, it was like being greeted by old friends!
the house is beautiful, elegantly decorated and cosy. we had two rooms on the ground floor, room 2 (wellington view) and room 3 (fern view) and both rooms were very clean and spacious with a modern bathroom attached, everything you would expect from a 5-star hotel (linen, pillows, cushions, towels, amenities). wayne and lynne were friendly but not overly assertive. they provided recommendations graciously when asked and had some good suggestions of places to dine. by the way, it is important to make reservations for dinner at some of the nicer restaurants.
the house is surrounded by a beautiful garden and i even smelt lavender from the big lavender bush at the side.
locationwise, it is easy to find and within walking distance to salamanca and the waterfront.
all in all, my family and i had a great stay here and tasmania is as lovely as i remember it to be. the next time we visit hobart, i will stay here again, without any hesitations. absolutely loved it, thanks to the perfect hosts!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We had contemplated staying at the Islington but decided against it as we wanted somewhere to relax and not be bothered by staff.

Clydesdale Manor was the perfect choice as Lynne and Wayne were the perfect hosts without being obtrusive and being available with helpful suggestiosn when needed.

It was refreshing to spend a day travelling aorund and returning home to enjoy a glass of local wine by the fire (yes this was in December !!).

As has been mentioned before breakfasts are indeed a treat and should be sampled duirng your visit.

Do take up their offer of prebooking restaurants as we had spoken to others who for one reason or another belived that reservations would not be needed and they had a terrible time getting a table anywhere.

Really we could not fault any aspect of this charming little hotel and can now see why it is so highly regarded.

Room Tip: The Superior Rooms are rather grand
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011 via mobile

We booked a room based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and can only say that this is an excellent place to stay. We had room nr. 3 opposite the reception. Spacious, comfortable bed and nice bathroom. The guesthouse is a nice 15 min walk to Salamanca. Within 5 minutes there are some nice Asian restaurants. The hosts Wayne and Lynne were very kind and helpful. Breakfast great. For extra's like eggs, fruit salad you have to pay a little extra but well worth it. Great stay in a nice city.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We had planned on staying at the HJ Art Hotel and made a last minute booking at the Clydesdale Manor. What a good decision.

The hotel owners, Wayne and Lynn, made our stay wonderful and memorable . The hotel is absolutely spotless and every detail is considered. The gardens are beautiful, the rooms spacious and the bathrooms modern. This is not just a great place it is also good value. Don't make the mistake of staying downtown; this is your place.

The hotel is a comfortable 15 minute stroll to the Salamanca Markets, through the historic residential neighborhood which is beautiful to explore and has lovely cafes. The walk in each morning was a highlight.

We didn't have time to enjoy the hotel breakfast, but it looked wonderful.

Hope you enjoy your stay here as much as we did.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clydesdale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clydesdale Manor

Address: 292 Sandy Bay Road, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clydesdale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clydesdale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clydesdale Manor Hobart, Tasmania
Clydesdale Manor Hotel Hobart

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clydesdale Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.