We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good "small town" motel in the centre of Hobart” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. Elizabeth & Bathurst Streets, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good "small town" motel in the centre of Hobart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights recently and found it to be perfectly fine for a 3 start hotel. Very helpful and friendly staff, no question was too much trouble. The room is dated, but perfectly functional and was very clean. Our room was also quiet, at the back of the hotel. Windows open which is nice for a change. The room door is suprisingly light with a significant gap at the bottom, which is the main place noise came in. Didn't need to use airconditioner so can't comment on that.
Had coffee and dessert downstairs at the restaurant which was very good.
I would happily stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: As for a quiet room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    41
    48
    25
    15
See reviews for
17
57
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Ok so I'm here in Hobart on a business trip and have arranged to stay at the Mid city for 5 nights, I have found the staff to be very lazy with customer service. The room I have been booked into only blows cold air from the air conditioner and this is a fault all the staff are aware of. Just to let you know that the current temp on the room is 12 degrees and will drop much more throughput the night.

On my first night in the hotel staff said the best thing they can do is try control the heating from the front desk, so the next day I arranged to be moved to a be room but the manager who I spoke to forgot to tell other staff so I'm stuck with the non heating room again.

Also the room opposite mine has a couple of guest the constantly have the tv on at maximum volume, this can be heard from 25 meters away all down the hallway and when I complained to staff that they perhaps need to phone the room I was meet with a very poor attitude.

I have stayed in so many hotels and this one rates as one of the worst by far. I would strongly recommend anyone working on a business trip to avoid this hotel.

All this for $130 a night.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here while in Tassie for a wedding down at the Brooke St Pier. Was a longer walk than I was anticipating but that was ok. The room was very small as was the bathroom. It was also very cold overnight. The water pressure in the shower was poor and there was no exhaust fan. The staff were helpful but slow. The place was generally fine but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just a budget hotel, good if you are spending least amount of time in the hotel. Room service did not clean the room properly, no change of towels, standard rooms have no tea/coffee maker.
I would rather spend a little more and stay at a better hotel. Not recommended

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have not stayed here before and usually stay at another place in Hobart but decided to change .We were pleasantly surprised . The place is reasonably close to all we needed in Hobart and is clean and tidy with no particular issues that we noticed , though we were going "basic"and had no high expectations as this stay was part of an offer / deal.
What stood out for us was the excellent and friendly service . We needed assistance several times with airline check ins and similar things and without fault , the staff ( different each time ) we very willing to assist us and were very friendly and helpful. This made a big difference and was really appreciated .
I would go back again and use this a a first choice if looking for a mid range / value type place.
Well done .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Top Contributor
1,318 reviews 1,318 reviews
178 hotel reviews
Reviews in 330 cities Reviews in 330 cities
558 helpful votes 558 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

It is hard to stay within my travel budget in Aus these days. But this hotel came up when searching for a spot. The price was such that I could stay under the radar with regard to expenses but also get some frequent stay points. It turned outo to be one of those "get what you pay for" places. The rooms were decent enough and the breakfast was not bad. All in all, it is OK for the money but you certainly wish you could upgrade while you are there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This hotel gave us out of date milk, which was off and seemed confused about what to do when we called down and wanted it replaced.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity

Address: Cnr. Elizabeth & Bathurst Streets, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.