We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location and character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Astor Private Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hobart
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Astor Private Hotel
Save
You added Astor Private Hotel to your Saves list
157 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Gippsland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“location and character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

An interesting old private hotel in the middle of the Hobart CBD.The building has loads of character and charm, just like the owner Tildi! Our room - a queen ensuite - was sizable, clean and tidy, with a modern bathroom. Simple breakfast of cereal, toast and juice is included (if you want something more, there's a Jackman McRoss next door).
The location is so easy for everything in Hobart: five minutes walk to Salamanca and the wharf (and the MONA ferry); 10 minutes to Battery Point; 25 minutes walk to Wrest Point; 20 minutes to the trendier parts of North Hobart; lots of cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance.
Considering the location, very good value-for-money.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a queen ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    49
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
82
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
South Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Did I say we loved it?

This place is NOT for everybody! If you're looking for luxury accommodations, look elsewhere.

But, if you're looking for a wonderful experience, are just a bit flexible and have any sense of adventure this is your place!

The rooms are wonderfully cozy comfy. The building itself is charming and full of character. The location is great. The breakfast is just fine. The other guests were "colorful" in a delightful sorta way.

And then there's Tildy! Wish she was here so I could give her a big hug ... she makes the place come alive! Read some of the other reviews and you'll see what I mean.

Hope we can find a way to get back to Tasmania so we can stay here again - it was one of the high points of the entire trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Fabulous location and quaint hotel which exudes charm. Tilde runs a tight ship, which ensures the quality of both the service and the guests! The hotel is lovely and far better, in my opinion that the larger characterless hotel chains. Not to mention value. We had an ensuite room, which fronts on to the main street. If I were to come back to Hobart I'd book a non ensuite room, which are at the rear of the building and way quieter. The shared bathrooms look large and perfectly fine. The guests all seem down to earth types who love to chatter, as does Tilde. All in all a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Nothing wrong with non ensuite rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel is indeed a rare find - old style, spotlessly clean and with plenty of character. It is centrally located, a stones throw from Salamanca place. Our room was spacious and comfortable with an en suite and off the main road so tended to be fairly quiet. There is a stairway to the first floor, so may not be suitable for travellor with limited mobility, and a small lift from this level. The continental breakfasts are basic but very adequate.The vivacious owner, Tildy is part and parcel of this establishment - she is an amazing lady, very helpful and organised and extremely funny - there is a definite touch of Basil Fawlty to her. Am still giggling about "Tildyisms" ie comments of Life according to Tildy. Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying two nights at the Astor Private Hotel in February 2013. Warmly welcomed by the charming manager, Tildy, I felt right at home. Groovy decor and a large, comfortable bed in a room that contained a sink as well as a shower. Clean toilets just down the hall (never had to wait).
I appreciated the free continental breakfast and the advice from Tildy on places to go and things to see. Great central location, only complaint was no washing machine on the premises, but there was a laundrette a short walk away.
Would definitely recommend and would stay there next time I'm in Hobart.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

THis hotel was amazing! am a bit reluctant to sat how fantastic it was as it will get too popular. But location, old style decor, spotlessly clean, amazing price which included breakfast, quiet and amazing owner were all 5 star. An experience at this this hotel was a highlight of my recent visit to hobart.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Astor has great atmosphere. It just need a little renovating. Great location and the staff are very nice. My room was clean although it did look like the floor in the bathroom might need a mopping. Oh well all up not too bad.

Room Tip: Good location to Hobart CBD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astor Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Private Hotel

Address: 157 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000 , Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hobart
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#6 Family Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hotel Astor Private
Astor Private Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astor Private Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.