We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, spotless old style place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astor Private Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Astor Private Hotel to your Saves list
Astor Private Hotel
157 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hobart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, spotless old style place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very nice one night stay. The rooms are old style but spotless. We had the rooms with shared bathroom but there was always one of the shared bathroom or toilets available. Equally they were very old but very clean. The owner was very welcoming and tchatty. One mitigant could be the matresses were a little to soft.
The breakfast is simple but sufficent and was included in the price.
Not the place for the hotel chain no surprise fan but great if you want authenticity.
Very central in hobart, less than 10 min walking from the salamanca market.
The car park, though small, was very handy.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aottepm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Finally! After trying a number of times to book a room here I finally got lucky. There is nothing much more I can add to what has already been said here but this is my take. The minute Tildy answered the phone to take my booking I knew I was in for a treat. This is a hotel everyone should add to their must-do list. It's a very old-style hotel full of charm and warmth. We were lucky to have a shower in our room and it looked like a feat of engineering was used to accommodate it. Tildy makes you feel like you've know each other for such a long time even though you've just met. Our arrival was late and she somehow sensed that we were hungry so after checking us in she directed us to a great place to eat. When we were checking out we told her about our next destination so she told us where to buy these fabulous cherries. My wife and I can wait to come back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank callmerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Astor Private Hotel is situated right in the city and close to everything. The rooms are clean and quaint. The host is a real character and provides excellent service. The price includes a continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Shared facilities and ensure rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WayneLovesAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

What a discovery! Now that we’ve stayed here twice, I can’t imagine us wanting to stay anywhere else in Hobart.

Providing you’re prepared to haul your luggage up one flight of stairs to the hotel’s reception area, (the place’s only negative), it is in every respect a wonderful hotel with great character, a location equally convenient for the Harbour, Salamanca and the CBD, and great value for the traveller.

The rooms we’ve had have been spacious, with high ceilings, and well appointed with plenty of power sockets, shelf and wardrobe space, television, modern ensuite etc. (As a few reviewers have noted – and the hotel’s website very clearly explains – the hotel’s ‘budget’ rooms are more spartan.)

The indefatigable, much-commented-upon Tildy is indeed an often hilarious host, a quite remarkable person, a veritable Tasmanian institution. Yes, there’s a touch of Basil Fawlty about her. But dear old Basil was not much good at making things happen. Tildy is the exact opposite. Tildy absolutely inspires confidence. We found that no matter how large or small the guest’s request, if Tildy says she’ll try her best, you know she’ll give it her all, and if Tildy says something will happen, it will happen – you can absolutely count on it.

We were there just a few days ago, and we’re already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Byablu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elwood, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I've just enjoyed my third stay in the Astor Private Hotel--this time during Hobart's MONA FOMA festival. I love staying at this hotel; I have stayed at many motels and hotels around the world, but this is my favourite. The Astor feels like coming home, which is something that can be rarely said of hotels and motels these days.

The rooms and shared spaces are impeccably clean and tidy, the breakfast is fabulous and the owner, Tildy, couldn't do more to assist, advise and support her guests. The architecture of this 'oldy worldy' hotel (I'm guessing it is a century old?) is simply beautiful, as is the way the owner has decorated it. You walk up the front stairs of the Astor and simply drink in its beauty.

It is perfectly centrally located--about 10 minutes walk to each of the waterfront, Salamanca Place, and Elizabeth Street (CBD). There is also a wonderful 'guide yourself' walk up to Battery Point nearby. Far and away, the Astor is the best place to stay in Hobart.

Room Tip: The newly renovated luxury rooms look fabulous--I've not stayed in them as yet, but I think this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I booked Astor based on the reviews in Tripadvisor and wasn't disappointed. It's a great location, rooms are clean and comfortable and the owner Tildy is extremely helpful, in fact nothing was too much trouble for her. The continental brekky on offer was simply but substantial, so overall this is a great find, great bargain and certainly beats hands down some of the more expensive but bland and sterile hotels around Hobart. I'd definitely return!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Staying at the Astor for 4 nights was the best part of our Tasmanian holiday. Its location is fantastic as it is within short walking distance of Salamanca, the pubs, the harbour/waterfront and the city. Inside the hotel itself was like taking a step into time with wonderful and intriguing decor in the common rooms and quaint homeyness in the bedrooms. However, nothing could compare to the most incredible hotel owner, Tildy. She made us feel so welcome from the second we walked in and was a great source of knowledge about local events and activities. My next trip to Hobart will most definitely be spent at the Astor Hotel. If you're looking for a hotel with all the modern trimmings and comforts then the Astor is not for you but if you're looking for one with deep character and a very entertaining stay then this is it. Thanks Tildy!

From 'The Boys'

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blue_Lemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 stars 995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Private Hotel

Address: 157 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Astor Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Astor Private
Astor Private Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing