We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   154 -156 Collins Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
MONA Special
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Central stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Staff were polite and courteous, rooms present well on face value. Beds are average. Detail is lost in finer details of apartment. Great location. Hotel needs to improve further on finer detail. Would stay there again providing price is right for standard of hotel and they continue to improve.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley R, General Manager at RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Great feedback thank you, especially about our friendly and helpful team members. M C I am pleased to inform you that the property is a new acquisition for the RACV and RACT and we are working through a number of improvement programs with a view to further enhance our Member and guest experience. We do hope to welcome you back soon so you can see some of the changes occurring. Until then, take care and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    120
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
36
132
10
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kawhia,New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Got a great price with the ACCOR card on the internet
Go for an apartment- not a hotel room.
at one point at front desk only one person on and a very long wait to be served,
This was week before when making an enquiry.
Unit was great but dismay at how much toilet paper left on roll and only 1 in cupboard,
I'm a girl that likes to know there is plenty.
Good views but finding the entrance to parking was confusing but got there in the end.

Room Tip: Get an apartment as opposed to an older hotel room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I can not fault this place from the room, the beds, the location this just made me feel so comfortable.
Everything we could want was in walking distance.
The bathroom was clean with a large bath, the rooms had a great directory of things to do. A must stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley R, General Manager at RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was. We're delighted you found our team members helpful, our location excellent and your room well appointed.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

we were unsure of what to expect from our stay as the hotel has only very recently changed hands. However, there was no need to worry. Staff were friendly and helpful and even when milk was missed during the daily room service they happily sent some up in the evening.

Bedding was comfortable, room a good size with small balcony and very clean. Bathroom was just right. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Centrally located and with a charming old world ambience.

However some basic courtesies are missing- for example no umbrellas on loan to Guests even during rainy weather, rooms not made up till late evening by housekeeping , understaffed reception especially at busy check-in times etc.

Good buffet breakfast, but the same menu every morning!

Looks like Management is a bit complacent given relatively few starred choices in this small city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

As it turns out this place is part of the old Hadleys Hotel where I first stayed in Hobart in 1978 but I believe has just been purchased by the RACV, so let's see what changes they may make.

After some below par recent stays in other hotels, this one actually lived up to most of the promise with a few exceptions; views of Mt Wellington and the Derwent are available on the upper floors only. My 3rd floor room had a view of the roofs of shops; not that that's a bad thing and would be common overseas - and as a bonus, it was very quiet.

Small balcony with the above view would not get much use in a Hobart winter but is a nice touch. Comfy bed and acceptable pillows. Nice quality linen and towels, nice toiletries. Even had a sensor light in the bathroom to avoid blindness on those night time excursions to the loo. Nice chair for sitting and nice furniture in the room; even quality heavy curtains. Quiet split system airconditioner with individual controls is a bonus ahead of centralized systems.

Over bath shower is OK but it had one of those fangled English style tap set ups with nearly impossible to read markings. Might look good, but clients on hands and knees naked with reading glasses in the bath just so they can work out the shower is presumably not what the hotel wants people to remember!

A few negatives; horrid coffee in the machine for breakfast (choose the percolated coffee instead). Breakfast goodies comprehensive and of good quality; even the 'winter special' breakfast at $18 was a bargain for a full buffet and about half mainland price. Lifts a bit 'iffy' and struggled to cope with the large group I was with and as the stairs are locked (presumably one way to the exit) they can't be used to access any of the floors or even to walk down to the ground.

Tried the adjacent restaurant "Charcoal" as well which is part of the complex and found it very good other than expensive beers (separate review).

Reception staff friendly and very efficient. All staff encountered seemed happy to be there and happy to offer a welcoming smile.

Recommended and far better than some recent alleged 5 star hotels we have been to.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the mountain or Derwent ask before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel

Address: 154 -156 Collins Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hobart's cultural city centre, RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel is within easy walking distance of Constitution Dock, the shopping precinct and Hobart's iconic Salamanca Markets. Australia's smallest and most historic capital offers a mix of historic and contemporary art and culture, cafes, and restaurants, providing the ideal base for business or leisure. RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel offers a variety of accommodation options, a number of conference and wedding facilities, Charcoal our restaurant provides - wood fired pizza and classic fare, a gym and undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and TravelClick so you can book your RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.