We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hobart Red Decker Bus tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red decker

Red decker
Hobart information Centre, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 69 attractions in Hobart
Attraction Details
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hobart Red Decker Bus tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great value way to see Hobart you just buy your ticket once and it is valid for 3 consecutive days. This is especially handy as most visitors like us who don't know their way around really appreciate being taken around and shown the sites of Hobart with live commentary by the driver. The open top double decker bus idea is great we stayed on for the 90 min duration on the city loop, although it is a hop on, hop off service if you wish at many of the city attractions. You can stay on all day if you wanted!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Poor value for Hobart”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We have always used simular services in other cities around the world. This has to be the worst value for money that we have ever been on. Advertised as a hop on hop off service, BUT with only 4 trips per day (3 on Saturdays). 20 stops - 6 within walking distance of the starting point - One a Casino, another a Brewery both of which means you have to hurry your tour to even get back on the bus that day. Normally a open top double decker, but if a cruise ship in a very hot non air conditioned old Sheffield enclosed bus. The cost is $30, admittedly valid for 3 days, which you need to get to see things at each stop, but you waste so much time either waiting for a bus, or rushing to be able to get ready of the next of only 4 buses a day! For just over $5 a day you can go by Metro bus all day. Add to that some drivers great commentary, others not so good (even two historical explanation that were different for the same building!) So not good value for money and meant a rush to get round or the missing out of several stops.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great way to get around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

This is bus is a great way to be transported to the hobart attractions. Also some very informative and historical commentary by the drivers. The pass also lasts for 3 days! Would definitely recommend it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great guided Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Hop on and off at any of the points of interest CASCADE Brewery West point casino Saturday at the Salamanca markets

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turners Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“This experience needs fine tuning.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I visit Hobart once a month for a day (I generally only have from 10am to 3.30pm to check out sights etc) whilst hubby is there on business and this time around I wanted to do the Red Decker bus tour. It advertises itself as a Hop on Hop off experience with around 20 stops, each tour taking around 1.5 hours. The ticket costs $30 but I was told it is valid for 3 (presumably consecutive) days.

I joined the tour at its first stop (The Info Centre) and was pleased to find a seat upstairs on the new open-top bus. The driver introduced himself and although a bit droll was informative. He displayed a quirky sense of humour, which I appreciated.

The tour itself was an interesting one. I was surprised at how well the bus negotiated what seemed to be impossible tight turns and narrow streets - all part of the experience!

Now down to the things I did not like ...

1. This was not truly a Hop on Hop off tour. If you wanted to do that you really could only do 1 or 2 as the wait between buses was 1.5 hours.

2. As I was there for only 1 day I could not make full use of the bus ticket. It would be much better for them to offer a ticket for a one day visitor like me. $30 made it a very expensive outing. I think if they offered a $10 - one trip - ticket that would be much better value and also give the company a higher passenger turnover. I would do the tour again if it cost less - for a one day pass.

3. To be able to get full value out of the various stops offered on the tour, it would be much better for there to be more frequent tours!! Whether this is possible or not, i don't know. I guess it would depend on how many buses (and drivers) they have. If you get off to have a look around you then have to wait 1.5 hours for the next bus.

Overall, I enjoyed the bus trip. I saw a part of Hobart I might not otherwise have seen but being a one-day visitor to the city I did not find this trip to be value for money. Perhaps as time goes on the company will look at offering options for visitors who do not have 3 days to use this service.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red decker also viewed

 
Hobart, Tasmania
Hobart, Tasmania
 

Been to Red decker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red decker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Red decker to your Saves list