We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Meal, Nothing wonderful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Granada Tavern

Granada Tavern
666 Main Rd Berriedale, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #271 of 459 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Hobart, Tasmania
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Basic Meal, Nothing wonderful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Returned again but not that impressed. Food is just basic Counter Meal and
really a lot of other places nicer for the price. The Service was good and the menu
has a wide selection but everyone in our group felt the same with their meals. They
were just basic meals and in some cases, not all that good.
Wont rush back in a hurry.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Restaurant and function room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Our last meal there was above average, and reasonably priced. A seafood plate and chicken burger. Service friendly, meals attractive, venue bright and inviting.
I recently used the function room there for an 18th, and the preparation put in from staff to the room, decorations and security of alcohol service was faultless. No charge for room. Food platters available reasonable priced, but be warned they are very big - we ordered too many and a lot went to waste.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not somewhere we will return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The food was only average and overpriced. I was initially impressed with the big menu, making it difficult to choose. My daughter and I were both disappointed with our mains, however the shared dessert was really nice. Service was friendly, and the dining room was light and airy and clean, however there was a distinct lack of atmosphere of any kind. Just a big room. We got the feeling it was a pub that had worked hard at creating a broad menu and a family-friendly dining space. Full marks to them for that - just not our scene!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Good selection of Meals and reasonable food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Counter meal selection is good and quality of food, good standard for Counter meals although some meals could be served a little hotter. Would return but there are a lot of places just as good or better, and of course, some not as good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berriedale, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great family hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The staff at the Granada Tavern are always so welcoming and enjoy interacting with customers.
The childrens playground is a popular area for little ones, and has been well thought out.
Meals are fantastic due to menu being updated regularly, and it is obvious staff take pride in the meals they present.
Entertainment is great, with well known acts appearing, and function room is an ideal place to hold a party or a wedding.
The Licencee at the Granada is always ready to go the "extra mile" to ensure her customers are happy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granada Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Granada Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granada Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.