We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dumplings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dumpling Express

Dumpling Express
3/138 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
+61 3 6224 3858
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 460 Restaurants in Hobart
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian
Restaurant details
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great dumplings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Quick,above average,cheap and tasty dumplings. Easy walk up Collins st, open good hours. We'd encourage at least one evening meal here and spend what you save on the rest of your trip! Chicken dumplings especially good!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fresh and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed around the corner and stopped by after seeing on trip advisor. Definitely worthy of good reviews. Great dumplings and pork fried rice. Great takeaway or quick meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Absolute Best Dumplings in Hobart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I am a Dumpling Express fanatic, I willingly admit it! I have tried dumplings at all the places in and around Hobart that serve them and nothing comes close to the tastiness of the ones here. The service is lovely, the owner has come to know myself and my partner through frequent visiting and he often chats with us, above and beyond the usual greetings.

The food itself is well-priced and served quickly, except between 12pm-1pm when they have their lunch rush hour; I just avoid going during those times. Extensive selection of dumplings and other treats. My favourite snack in the CBD!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Cheap tasty simple food for people on a budget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My family and I ate here 3 times during a 3 day stay in Hobart. It's a cosy little place with friendly staff and very reasonable prices. There are very cheap lunch specials Mon to Fri. My kids loved the dumplings and the noodles. It's not gourmet but it's tasty and cheap. Reminded me of the great cheap places you eat when you are travelling in Asia.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Expectations high, not so high”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Found this place on trip advisor based on its reviews. Initial contact was good, however, my husbands food came out and mine never arrived until he had well and truly finished. I tried his pork noodles which were quite nice but the dumplings were very plain and too late. Prices were good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dumpling Express also viewed

 

Been to Dumpling Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dumpling Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.