We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salamanca Wharf Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Salamanca Wharf Hotel to your Saves list
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17A Castray Esplanade, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Beulah, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

A very beautiful hotel, extremely amazing staff, very modern and comfortable, good use of a small space, restaurant downstairs is beautifully delicious with amazing coffee. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    55
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
106
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A near-new 5 or 6 story, fully serviced, apartment style hotel. Quite a narrow building, with an internal car stacker for 14 cars.
Likes: Car stacker keeps your car safe and off the street. Good supply of condiments and mini bar in the room. A good little washing machine / dryer in the room.
Dislikes: Can be a little claustrophobic - the only window is at the rear, with a brick wall a metre outside the (only) glass in our room, meaning there's absolutely no outlook. We paid $295 in October 2013 and got room # 5.....Another annoying feature was the lack of a shaver socket in the bathroom handy to the mirrors.

Room Tip: If booking, I suggest a phone call to ensure you get a second floor room, or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a wonderful small modern hotel in an excellent location. It is smart, luxurious and has great staff. We booked a Premium Apartment for 5 nights in October and were delighted with the accommodation. I had specifically requested a room with a bath (not all of these types have baths) and were not disappointed. The bed was extremely comfortable, the lounge/kitchen area was light and spacious and had a very nice sofa and the bathroom was a real treat. It had a deep spa bath and wonderful shower plus generous storage and surface areas. The room also had a washing machine/dryer which was an unexpected bonus.

Staff were very helpful and friendly and the place was bright, fresh and immaculate.

Location is right next to Salamanca Market so provides easy access to all the Hobart favourites but is peaceful at night.

We would return to Hobart just to stay in this wonderful boutique hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back on the second and third floors have plenty of light and our nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Lovely location and lovely room but not what I thought I had paid for. I see that a previous reviewer has commented on the lack of advertised water views but the response from management that they, nor any third party advertisers water views is incorrect. I booked through the MONA website which does, in fact, advertise that the Loft Apartments have water views. So, seeing as I was away by myself, the thought of a balcony with views across the harbour was very appealing AND I paid a premium for it. Alas the room outlook was less than savoury. No view at all and in fact you 'look' through perforations in the steel facade of the building. All the while listening to the construction site noise from the site opposite...not the hotel fault I know.
When I spoke to management about the lack of view they reiterated that it was not advertised as such but I told them it was and they said they would contact MONA. A week later the website still is falsely advertising water views. I don't agree that they are not responsible for what third parties write about their establishment. They obviously have a 'deal' (maybe a contract) with MONA to 'sell' their rooms through their website. Its the fact that I felt 'ripped off' that really stuck in my throat.
It didn't spoil my trip and the room and staff were very nice BUT when you don't get what you pay for its annoying.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is just so clean and the rooms are great. The location is very convenient and just a stroll to the Salamanca markets on a Saturday. I would stay there again with no hesitation and the staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Book ahead as they are very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay here very much in an apartment with views of the park. Amenities were quality and breakfasts in the downstairs cafe were definite value for money.
As were there for business, our only real criticisms were the lack of a decent mirror in the whole apartment. Mirrored bathroom cupboards and splash back which was set back was disconcerting as it cut one in half. Just a bit odd. Also, the ironing board was a joke, please get full size ones as you have the storage space. They are so flimsy with a full size iron they are almost dangerous to use on the table.
Very central location and I would stay there again

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A modern extremely well built hotel in the heart of the tourist district. We had a beautiful stay at The Salamanca. A lot of thought has gone into the design of this hotel and its finishes. (eg double glazing and head rail of curtains recessed into ceiling) And it helped to make our stay both very enjoyable and relaxing. We even dined in on 1 occasion (there is a very well laid out kitchen in the lounge room) and this worked very well. When it is time for a refurbishment, presumably not for a long time yet, it would be a good idea to revisit the choice of sofa in the lounge room. It is a leather lounge and looks great, but just a little uncomfortable for 2 people. and the coffee table is also not long enough. But these are minor complaints for a hotel that is very good in a perfect location

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Salamanca Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Wharf Hotel

Address: 17A Castray Esplanade, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#14 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Salamanca Wharf Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Salamanca Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Wharf Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salamanca Wharf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.