We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rin

Rin
167 Harrington St, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
0427634574
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 416 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
ADELAIDE
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Rin is on the outskirts of the city in the suburb of West Hobart, increasingly known as #weho with a number of cool cafes & restaurants popping up. Rin, while not the most authentic Japanese lay out internally is the most authentic Japanese food I have experienced in Hobart. Great menu, fantastically priced, delicious dishes! Oh and you must try Mio the sparkling Japanese Sake...yum! can't wait to go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“I never liked Japanese food until I visited Hobart!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

What a cute place. Authentic, atmospheric and honest. Real Japanese food prepared by real Japanese experts. We loved every mouthful and were very impressed. I've never enjoyed Japanese food before but this place changed all that. Who knew a trip to Tassie would open me up to Japanese food?! Did I mention it's cheap?

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at this restaurant. The food was amazing and the service fast and friendly. Would recommend this place to anyone who enjoys Japanese cuisine but it would be wise to book a table as it gets very busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch or dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Just outside of the CBD in Hobart. We went there for lunch upon recommendation and were very pleasantly surprised. An unremarkable building on a corner, but a hidden treasure. They have a small menu, great service and the food was just plain excellent and that all for very reasonable prices. We'll be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing meals, great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Rin is a lovely relaxed place although frequently busy. It is an easy, delicious BYO restaurant. I have been extremely happy with my meals every time I have been. Couldn't it recommend more!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rin also viewed

 

Been to Rin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.