We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mother india

Mother india
213 Elizabeth street | North hobart, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
0432029518
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 416 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We dine at a lot of indian restaurants and had a superb meal at Mother India. The curry sauces had both a depth and complexity of flavor. The meat, paneer and kofta were all of high quality. The naan bread was excellent. The restaurant was quiet and I'd recommend people should go there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    18
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A taste of home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Not my home, I'm a nice Jewish girl from NYC. But it feels just like they have opened their home to us. Food great, lovely quiet atmosphere, wonderful staff. If my grandmother had been Indian rather than Russian, this is what dinner would have tasted like.

My husband is very fond of their Kashmiri dishes - lamb, rice, and naan. As for me, there isn't a vegetarian dish I haven't loved. Their vegetarian thali is big enough for a growing boy or two of me. In fact I am partial to any lamb and chicken dish which not in a cream sauce (the ones in cream sauce are superb, but not quite on my "gonna lose a few more kilos" diet). Can also recommend the masala tea. They have a good choice of beers and ciders, too. Give it a try, I think you'll be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Absolute gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Actually stumble upon this place looking for another Indian and that god we did. This is by far the best Indian I have had in a long time we all ordered something different and it was all fantastic. It is a bit of a walk for those tourists staying near the harbour though

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mother India!!! a must visit restaurant in Hobart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I recently visited Hobart for a vacation and tasted the best Indian dishes here. I am a person who loves spicy food and have tried many restaurants, this is awesome man!!! trust me, its so damn good. They have not changed to Aussie Indian sort of spiciness its still the Indian Spicy. Especially try the vindaloo, let it be chicken or Beef, its hot and spicy. Never have ever tasted such a nice Indian food.
Nice warm welcome by the waitresses. Its easy to miss the restaurant while driving since its located at a very roadside with no lights nearby. we all loved the food that night.
I wish this restaurant opens in Melbourne as well for Victorians to enjoy the actual Indian taste.
WILL VISIT AGAIN!!!!!!! definitely worth visiting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverstone tAS
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Romantic dinner for two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

JUST PERFECT. We eat a lot of Indian food, and found this Restaurant to be better than our favourite Pickled Evenings in Launceston and nearly on a par with our Hobart favourite Annupurna.We will definatley eat here the next time we are in Hobart.
We highly recommend this restaurant.Great staff great atmosphere very very clean and fabulous food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother india also viewed

 

Been to Mother india? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mother india, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.