We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my faves!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jack Greene

Jack Greene
47-48 Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
+61 3 6224 9655
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 416 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Gourmet Burgers and Boutique Beer
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of my faves!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Great spot to meet friends for relaxed dining...I particularly love the bar snacks...service is always spot on.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    77
    17
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Best service we've had in a long time. When we went to order we were advised of an hour wait time or we could be seated next door at Cargo (pizza) with a half hour wait time. We new the wait was worth it so we stayed. Got the best bloody burger I've had in my life. The chips were great too. Very unique style to what they are doing and it definitely works. Excellent pricing and the staff are excellent. Five stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great drinking hub.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

This is a must do at Salamanca. Great drinking place with good food. Staff were very attentive. Place buzzes on a Thursday and Friday night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“delicious burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I'd just got off the plane from Melbourne and come from Seven Mile Beach and after Rektango, feeling weary and just wanted to kick back and relax with nice, comforting, honest food, not too fancy in an easygoing environment and Jack Greene fit the bill perfectly. I was prepared for a bit of a wait and ordered about 7.30ish, got in just before some large groups I was told, thank goodness. So I settled in with a book and a pint of Cascade Pale Ale at my table for one upstairs and in about half an hour my meal came, which I thought was fine, given the place was full. I had the bbq chicken burger and chips with aioli and I have to say the burger had really clean, fresh flavours, it was delicious, tasty and pretty high quality. Eating out on Salamanca is always a pleasure, I wanted to experience the 'real Hobart', had realised this was a side of Hobart I'd overlooked previously and came out feeling cosily satisfied, just what I was looking for. The young barman who looked after me was really nice and professional too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best burgers in Hobart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

One of my favorite places to eat in Hobart.

There are over 20 different burgers on offer. Well I didn't actually count the number of burgers they have but there is one for everyone. They have mini burgers for the not so hungry too.

The place is usually busy, most days of the week, but should have too much of a problem getting a table if you wait 5-10 minutes.

It's a pub, so expect a pubbish atmosphere. The place has a really good country feel and staff are friendly.

They have a great selection of local and foreign beers. Again, plenty to choose from.

I come back because of the blue cheese burger and the relish they put on their burgers.

Yum!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Greene also viewed

 

Been to Jack Greene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack Greene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.