We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for a snack” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jack Greene

Jack Greene
47-48 Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
+61 3 6224 9655
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 416 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Gourmet Burgers and Boutique Beer
Albury, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good choice for a snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We ate here at about 4pm on a Saturday, was pretty busy but the service was very prompt, polite and welcoming. We had a selection of tapas, 4 choices all up which came to $35. We didn't drink as there is still a bit of recovery going on from too much alcohol on the days prior. But we could not finish what we ordered and left really satisfied.

Stylished little venue, almost too stylished though, it is like one has entered a movie set, everything matches and is bit too stereotypical design book Chapter Ye olde Worlde Pub. This is just a personal perspective and not really relevant.

The food is great and the staff are not only all very young and attractive, but good at their jobs which is a hard combination to get right.
Also there is a real open woodfire (not a gas one) upstairs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    77
    17
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Mini burgers...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

When they say mini they mean it!! The are TINY. They taste good but not worth what i had to pay for them. My husbands burger was $18 and on top of thay they make you pay for the chips and sauce but you dont notice until you look at the bill. As for drinks... They were half way through making mine when they noticed they were out of the main ingredient!! The staff were nice enough and the location is great but the music is too loud, trying to drown out next doors live band i assume. All and all it was ok. The food was ok. I just dont think ill go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great burgers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

There are many many cafes and restaurants to choose from along this curving stretch of road close to Hobart's harbour. We really enjoyed the casual atmosphere here- homely and cosy, interesting artefacts dotted about, good range of drinks and an ability to cater to a gluten-intolerant with a fab burger and the best fries I've had in forever.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This place has it all. The best in Tassie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Excellent burgers - best I've had in years. The atmosphere, music and service was fantastic. Yes, it's very busy (with good reason) and you will have to get there around the 5:30 mark to find somewhere to sit (I recommend sitting inside upstairs), but it's well worth it. The wine and beer selection were great. Tip: order early for a meal (if it's busy).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Top burgers, great beer and wine selection, wonderful atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Whilst traveling recently with my mum and brother we stumbled upon this wonderful little bar in the heart of Salamanca - Jack Greene! The decor of this place is awesome - book filled shelves cover the walls, dim lighting and low ceilings with exposed beams create a warm, fun and inviting atmosphere. We spent the afternoon in this lovely little hide away - where we enjoyed delicious, well priced, burgers for lunch and shared pints of beer and bottles of great local wine throughout the arvo. Our group of 5 consisted of 24 year olds - 54 year olds and we all had a great time!! We 'll definitely be back to Jack Greene next time we're in the beautiful city of Hobart!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Greene also viewed

 

Been to Jack Greene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack Greene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.