We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, Amazing view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Signal Station Brasserie

Signal Station Brasserie
700 Nelson Road | Mt Nelson, Hobart, Tasmania TAS 7007, Australia
61 3 6223 3407
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 460 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food, Amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

A catch up lunch with a friend became an excellent dining experience. Firstly the setting - the views are the best in Hobart. Even with scudding winter showers, we could see the whole south east of Tasmania. The sun room (and yes there was sun) was a beautiful place to sit.
I ate the slow cooked pork belly with Franks Cider apple - melt in the mouth with just enough crackle. My friend enjoyed the vegetarian risotto.
I didn't plan on having desert but the menu tempted me with White Chocolate and vanilla panacotta with turkish delight, pistachio and fairy floss. Willy Wonka made this for adults!!!!!
Service was efficient and very friendly.
Currently just open for lunches, they will soon be serving evening meals on a Friday evening. We'll be there!
Can't recommend the meal and the experience highly enough.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    32
    10
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Superb food, superb views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We had afternoon tea here today and as usual everything was spot on. We have been here previously on a number of occasions for lunch or just coffee and cake and the service is always excellent. The views of the Derwent are excellent. We are already planning a Friday night dinner.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Michelin Star Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The menu I had was a salmon wrapped with bacon served with potatoes. The portion was quite generous and it tasted really really delicious.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food with great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We found this place listed in the new entertainment book and thought we would try it for lunch. Wow the cottage is cosy, great views, really nice set up better than what we imagined. The menu has a really great range of dishes, we both had the chowder and it was amazing, one of the best we have had. They also have a good range of Tassie wines by the glass. The service was excellent, well worth a visit. The signal station is interesting and worth a look. We will definitely be going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Get lost in this little secret...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Cute little place with an amazing view. If you just want to waste away a Sunday afternoon, come up here for the spectacular view, enjoy some scones with Jane & cream, and maybe also grab a hot chocolate. Sit out on the balcony and watch the world go by with the Kenny G style music playing in the background.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Signal Station Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Signal Station Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Signal Station Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.