We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of yellow bernard

yellow bernard
109 COLLINS STREET, HOBART, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 439 restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great coffee, busy little cafe. I love a cafe that is run with a heart and this one certainly is. Also got parking right outside the cafe, it's great!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    17
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Consistently great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Yellow Bernard has become an institution in the CBD in just over 1 year. Their coffee is always good and YB is an oasis for coffee snobs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you want good coffee don't bother going anywhere else this is the place. Well worth the wait if you go at a peak time. great friendly staff all the time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This place has great coffee, and I do mean great coffee. I am a coffee freak and when I have a chance I always grab mine from here. The only reason this place only ranked 4/5 is the seating. If I want to meet a friend for a chat there are never enough seats (it's small), but if you want a takeaway, a morning caffeine hit, Yellow Bernard is a good place to get it =)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This place was recommended by a manager of a restaurant who knew of my expectations for excellent coffee. All coffee shops should make excellent coffee, alas they don't but Yellow Bernard does. It was very busy but I was acknowledged when I went in ,order taken, professional no nonsense but friendly.
Bit of a wait...didn't matter they were sooo busy. Fantastic coffee. Just as I ordered....extra hot. My experience is "she doesn't really want it hot or she'll have it the way I think it should be"
Not there...it was great to really enjoy it.
Will definitely visit again when can.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed yellow bernard also viewed

 

Been to yellow bernard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage yellow bernard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.