We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value” 2 of 5 stars
Review of AWU Delicious Food

AWU Delicious Food
1/15 Hunter St, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #143 of 416 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Very Nice Sepcial Chinese Restaurant to go!
Hobart
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This place might be an ok generic Chinese place, but it suffers from near-the-waterfront-itis; its prices are high, serves are smaller than some places, and it's all pretty mediocre. $3.80 for a "medium take away container" sized portion of rice is a bit steep. The satay chicken wasn't satay, the Szechuan beef was extremely generic & mild, and it was all just boring.

If everywhere else is closed, go here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    38
    4
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

not the biggest fan's of Chinese but this place made us more of a Chinese fan. The food was fresh, tasty and well priced. Additionally the service complemented the meal as the lady's were very helpful and helped entertain our little bub! Definately a place to try out.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Delisious by name and defiantly by nature. Great food good service and most unusual these days but the room was too hot. The service just right. Don't have coffee though, that was terrible

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant and excellent value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Friends of ours took us out to Awu for dinner recently. This is a really nice Chinese restaurant which has authentic food, freshly prepared and served in very generous servings. The five of us in our party shared a banquet, which I generally don't like, because you have to accept dishes you don't particularly fancy. However, the waiter was extremely helpful and pointed out to us that we could substitute any of the dishes on the banquet with others if we so desired. This even came down to allowing individual choices of soup, which I was thankful for, as I like the hot and sour Szechuan style soup, and their seafood hot & sour soup proved delicious. The soup serve size was rather small, but in hindsight this is not so bad as it doesn't kill your appetite for the mains.
Main courses in our banquet were fish based, and I would find it difficult to describe each in detail, suffice it to say that each was tasty, and there was ample for of each for our party, with no shortage of quality ingredients. Prawns and scallops aplenty!
The food standard is well above the average Westernized Chinese fare sold in so many smaller restaurants and takeaways. If had real flair in the way it was prepared, and was obviously fresh and delicious. Desserts were typical of a Chinese restaurant, and offered the usual choices. Everyone could choose what they fancied, too, once again deviations from the 2 choices offered in the banquet were fine by them.
Service was excellent, very polite, friendly and excellently paced.
Unfortunately I can't comment on the Wine list, as the restaurant also permits BYO. This is yet another reason to dine here - it can save quite a lot of money and it's nice to bring your favorite wine along with you rather than it risk not being on the wine list.

We all agreed it had been a lovely meal, and we intend to eat there again soon.

Downsides? None really. It's a nice little restaurant in trendy Hunter St. Parking can be difficult, but there is a parking station only 5 minutes walk away.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Go somewhere else. This restaurant I have now visited three times. The good is awful, always cold. How they can serve steamed rice almost cold I do not know. They reheated it in the microwave when I mentioned it to them. But all our other dishes that arrived at the table were also cold. I give up. Will never go there ever again. Really awful food. Friends I was with also were very disappointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AWU Delicious Food also viewed

 

Been to AWU Delicious Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AWU Delicious Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.