We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and close to Salamanca Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampden At Battery Point Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hampden At Battery Point Apartments to your Saves list
Hampden At Battery Point Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   123 Hampden Road, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Central Coast, NSW
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Value and close to Salamanca Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We enjoyed staying at Hampden at Battery Point. We both feel that the accommodation was very clean, good value for money and so quiet. Our the location was ideal so close to Salamanca Place and very easy to walk everywhere. Undercover parking was a bonus. I feel room 202 was recommended and was great as it is all on one level with great views of Hobart.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 202. The 1 bed apartment was very good and excellent view of Battery Point via th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedAwnings, General Manager at Hampden At Battery Point Apartments, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Giselda1,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Hampden at Battery Point Apartments. I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us - we love hearing from our guests. I absolutely agree with you - our location is fantastic, and it's really convenient having secure undercover parking.

Thank you again for your impressions, and we do hope to welcome you back to Hampden at Battery Point!

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Hampden at Battery Point Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
24
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Property has a very old dated feeling about it, furniture in rooms is not particularly nice or modern. Our apartment consisted of an upstairs lounge and kitchen combined, with a bedroom and bathroom downstairs, and are definately not suitable for the elderly or infirm. The shower door did not close so the floor flooded after each shower. Two small pieces of soap to last four days does not do the distance. On the plus side the bed was comfortable, and it is in walking distance of the city and Salamanca. Contact with the manager was pleasant and professional. Personally I would prefer the Old Woolstore.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedAwnings, General Manager at Hampden At Battery Point Apartments, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Archer_011,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at Hampden at Battery Point Apartments. You make some great points about the apartment's stairs perhaps not being suitable for guests with mobility issues; we do have a number of apartments all on one level and an additonal special needs apartment.

Thank you again, our guest's impressions are important to us as it allows us to continually upgrade our products and services.

We hope to welcome you back to Hampden at Battery Point again.

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Hampden at Battery Point Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Yes, the locations great, secure parking is a plus, walking through Battery Point is marvellous; Hobart just outside the balcony;but this is the real disappointment.
The room has so much promise but is furnished very oddly. Hard, heavy furniture that doesn't fit the space. Couches and seating that is akin to sitting on a park bench for comfort; a double bed where the two joined singles are at different heights; no paintings on walls, two tv's but neither is tuned in nor plays without a background buzz; bright white ceiling lights but no lamps.
Get the picture about this place? Nearly, but nearly good enough.
The place is soulless, the notes are stern and carried implied threats or straight out warnings, no welcome, all-in-all a terribly flat experience.
To be blunt this accommodation is like an upmarket prison cell and it doesn't need to be.
Memo to the proprietor - ditch the awful heavy stained wood furniture, get a designer, give the place a soul; if this happens perhaps next time I'll give this place a second thought.

Room Tip: Stayed in a balcony room, which had the advantage of city and water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedAwnings, General Manager at Hampden At Battery Point Apartments, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Pabart,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent stay at Hampden at Battery Point Apartments. I was sorry to read that the apartment did not meet with your expectations. We do really appreciate all feedback as it allows us to continually improve our products and services.

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Hampden at Battery Point Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Some business associates and I stayed here recently. The place is acceptable, but far from inviting. The couches in the living area appear to have been purchased from some kind of house of pain, and there's barely any water for a shower. The place isn't expensive, but some weeks after paying the full rate for three rooms, we were emailed by the manager and told we hadn't paid. She threated to complain to the police. Life's too short to deal with flaky office managers who can't handle the accounts, so I will never set foot in the place again. Either will any of our clients.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed for two nights recently and this one bedroom apartment was ideal - quiet location, close to the city, Salamanca sights etc and very comfortable. There are 16 apartments that have either a balcony or a courtyard (we had a courtyard), very new, so modern fit out, and secure parking underneath. Full kitchen amenities, dining and lounge space, bedroom and large bathroom upstairs. There were reverse cycle air conditioners and large TVs both downstairs and upstairs and a folder with useful info about the apartment, local sights and restaurants.
Location is on the opposite side of Sandy Bay Road to the Salamanca area but still an easy walking distance. There is no manager on site but there was good communication by phone and email after I made the booking on a discount site to ensure that I was clear about the check in arrangements - car parking and building access are by entering a code number on the keypad.
The website gives an accurate description of the apartment and it's a great little place for a holiday in Hobart or even for business. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

We stayed here on a holiday to Tasmania, as it was our first time in Hobart we wanted to stay somewhere central and with facilities.
The apartments are great! they're in Battery Point which is just gorgeous and central to everything.. the owners were fantastic and we met them when we arrived.
We stayed at the one bedroom apartment which was very comfortable and spacious. The kitchen wasn't' too big but it was comfortable to cook in. The apartment was lovely and I would definitely stay there again. There were plenty of heaters as we stayed in the middle of the Tassie winter (it is freezing down there!) and didn't have a problem.
I would definitely recommend it, it's like a home away from home..battery point is beautiful and from the back these apartments had a nice water view!

  • Liked — Location and the apartment facilities
  • Disliked — nothing.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2007

Our "Superior" apartment was spacious, comfortable and well-appointed. We also inspected (thanks to the extremely friendly proprietor, Dick) the Studio and Executive apartments - the latter in particular is sensational! Quiet and safe area with dozens of very good eating and drinking places within strolling distance (incl the excellent Salamanca / harbour area). We will certainly be back! (Particularly recommend nearby Kelly's seafood restaurant in Knopwood St)

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampden At Battery Point Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampden At Battery Point Apartments

Address: 123 Hampden Road, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampden At Battery Point Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampden at Battery Point Apartments a Red Awnings Boutique Hotels and Apartments PropertyHampeden at Battery Point Apartments are nestled in Hobart’s premier suburb, Battery Point, hidden away from the main city streets. The apartments are within five minutes’ walk of the renowned Salamanca Markets, the first class restaurants of Battery Point and only ten minutes’ walk from the center of the city! All 16 one bedroom apartments come fully equipped with cooking facilities, flat screen televisions in the lounge and the bedroom, modern bathroom facilities and Broadband Internet and for your comfort Split Heating and Cooling systems in the Bedroom and the Lounge area;sSpacious floor space and separate bedroom and lounge room area’s ensure privacy with your choice of either balcony or courtyard apartments with outdoor settings and undercover secure car parking. An easy 5 minute walk from your Apartment and you arrive at Hobart's Historic Battery Point; take a journey through time as you soak up the atmosphere of this Historic village, continue along the narrow streets that wind themselves down towards the water front and Salamanca, where you will find art galleries, restaurants, cafes, shops and bars. All this right on your doorstep!Or take a left turn from your apartments for a leisurely stroll along Sandy bay road through St David's park and along Davey Street onto Murray Street soaking up Hobart's most stunning display of heritage architecture into the Hobart Central business district.Hampden At Battery Point Apartments really are the very best location to base yourself and discover Hobart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampden At Battery Point Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampden At Battery Point Apartments Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampden At Battery Point Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.