We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a market!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salamanca Market

Salamanca Market
Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$104*
and up
Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach...
Ranked #1 of 12 Shopping in Hobart
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take in some shopping and gallery hopping at these 1830s restored, colonial-style warehouses.
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“More than just a market!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Loved the atmosphere!! The people, buskers, food and amazing variety of stalls! Such a great place to visit and soak up a bit of hobart culture...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    202
    65
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“'GREAT MARKET, THOUGH LITTLE OVER-PRICED'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Fantastic market in Hobart, there was something for everyone from antiques to fresh Tasmanian produce to local crafts to fairy floss. The locals were very helpful and friendly although did find that some of the takeaway food was overpriced... though there is nothing better than having strawberries and cream, sausages and mini pancakes at 8 am in the morning... yum!
A great idea to go to the market in the morning as at 10.00 started getting busy. A great way to spend a Saturday morning with the kids and family.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Standard Markets”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Nothing too flash about these markets, They're small street markets and only take about 30 minutes to see all the stalls. They sell the usual market stuff like clothing, kids toys, some fine foods, etc. people rave about them, but really, they're just your small average street market. No different from anything else I've seen.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star707, Sydney
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
126 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
488 helpful votes 488 helpful votes
“Love this Market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We chose our hotel so we could just walk around the corner and be in Salamanca. Here we would find the Market on Saturday morning, the restaurant and coffee shop strip and all manner of interesting boutiques and shops, Salamanca Square and our favourite book shop: "Deja Vu". This time we were seeing a Winter market as only Hobart can do so well. I love markets, they tell you so much about the people who live there: how they eat; what entertains them; how they dress; what is important to them. What is best of all is that a market gives you a good reason to be speaking with strangers The people were dressed for the temperatures which were 1 degree overnight rising to 8 degrees in the day. There was a plethora of scarves, beanies, hats, coats and all things to help you feel warm. Even I, who never wears a hat, was inspired to buy a beanie because ears get cold. I even bought two beanies and wore both of them at the same time. The market offers a mix of clothing, produce, craft, entertainment and food. I saw my first busker playing a harp: two women, one on harp and the other on flute created such ethereal music it made you walk slower. In another place a Latino band with female lead singer struck up a party mood. Further down the strip some students who had escaped from the Conservatorium of Music played classics. It was all there. Among the produce I found some "Black Garlic". Naturally I bought some, but I have no idea how to use it. The notion of black garlic had me spellbound. The fresh produce was fantastic. There must be something special in this climate that makes fruit and vegetables brighter in colour and more delicious. You can't visit Tasmania and not eat their apples. Being picked within a couple of days takes apples to another level. You can find honey, jams, cheeses and all of those fine foods, as well as cooked food outlets. Sprinkled throughout are some antique and old wares stalls. For me, the market is a photographer's heaven. The colours, the people, the way they are moving and holding themselves in the cold. The objects and the light. The light in Tasmania is a photographer's dream. I will always include a Saturday in a trip to Hobart so I can visit this market.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Saturday morning market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Salamanca market had interesting local art and crafts along with great restaurants. Great place to go for breakfast and also encourage to walk through the market.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salamanca Market also viewed

 

Been to Salamanca Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salamanca Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.