We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 429

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 429 to your Saves list
Motel 429
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   429 Sandy Bay Rd | Sandy Bay, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great spot to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Hi we stayed there for the first time while doing the toy run , the office staff was friendly we got to our room it was clean cosy . Just over the road from the casino was very handy you meal's and drinks . When we checked out this morning we booked again for the next toy run , if you want some where clean cosy and with friendly staff that has very reasonable room rate's check this place out .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    35
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
29
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

After a warm welcome from Judy, we were very happy with our clean modern room. We had 2 Queen size beds. The room was well equipped with quality bed and bath linen. There was freshly ground local coffee (or chocolate) with plunger and free wifi, which worked well. Lovely hot showers. The only down side - Sandy Bay Rd is busy with morning peak hour traffic. This was not a problem for us as we were not trying to sleep in. Well priced, staff very informative and room serviced every day. I'll be back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was attending a conference at the Wrest Casino & staying close by was great & this place exceeded my expectations. Room was clean & serviced daily & all my requests / questions were answered promptly with a smile & the onsite parking & close proximity to the city made getting around easy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel felt good from the start.
The staff were lovely and very welcoming.

Location is great as it is right across from Casino - but we were driving so it was also good for the ease of parking spaces in hotel driveway/courtyard.
Plus it was just $10 to get to Salamance in a taxi, so well worth the cheaper price compared to hotels in town.

Rooms are very neat, clean and modern.
Very good facilities in the room, best shower - super hot and super high pressure.

Had Austar and a DVD player also - which was great when weather turned awful.
overall excellent place with all that you need.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser Coast
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed here twice now and I won't be staying anywhere else when in Hobart.
The rooms are all renovated and the beds are very comfortable. I loved over looking the river and being close to the casino means there is no shortage of food options. Supermarket isn't far away either.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was in room 308 to start. It was very clean. It had everything I needed for just me and to be able to do some paperwork. Fit out was pretty new or in well maintained condition. Bathroom was somewhat small but again was very clean, functional and all I needed as one person. The queen bed was very comfortable and linen was crisp and clean. Nice size flat screen TV. The down fall in this area was that people smoke on the small balcony outside these rooms near the lift. I was awoken at 7:00am by the really strong smell of cigarettes filling my room. The reception was more than apologetic and moved me downstairs to room 206. This was a larger unit with two queen beds and a kitchenette with stove top and microwave. Far more than I needed but it was very nice of them and was no trouble for them. I could also prepare my own meal which was a bonus because the only restaurant nearby is the Casino. When I entered both rooms, the road noise was quite obvious. However, when I closed the windows I found the noise to be sufficiently diminished. I'm a relatively light sleeper and noise did not effect me on either night. I would not normally use a minibar because they are usually expensive. However this mini bar is reasonably priced, so I didn't mind using it at all. Makes sense to me to have reasonable prices, then people will use the mini bars, instead of the stock going stale and out of date! Overall for the price, this place has all you would need, is very clean, has parking (which is a bonus that many in the city motels do not provide for free), has a small gym (by all accounts- I didn't use it) and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Noise was not an issue for me, however if you are a light sleeper you may want to ask for a room awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The room at the front/roadside that we were given was clean and the bed comfortable but the noise from the road kept us awake all night and made the following day of appointments a great challenge. The Receptionist when we booked in was friendly but the Receptionist who booked us out hardly said a word. We certainly won't be staying there again as there are many choices. If you must stay opposite Wrest Point be sure to take some ear plugs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 429? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 429

Address: 429 Sandy Bay Rd | Sandy Bay, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel 429 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Motel 429, located 42.9 degrees South and perfectly positioned on the waterfront in beautiful Sandy Bay.Centrally located amongst some of Tasmania's fine Southern attractions, opposite the entertainment and restaurants of Wrest Point Casino. Offering a variety of standard motel style rooms and deluxe self contained rooms. Free and ample parking. Overlooking the pictureque River Derwent. Free parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Motel 429 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
429 Hotel Sandy Bay
Motel 429 Hobart, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 429, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.