We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very outdated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Waterfront to your Saves list
Quest Waterfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Brooke St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very outdated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This motel is clean and very centrally located to the Hobart waterfront and Salamanca markets but is very outdated. Parking around the motel is really bad. The only ones we could get were for 1hour paid parking. They do have valet parking but it did not start until three hours after we arrived. I assume they have to wait for office workers to vacate the car park. Then you can not collect your car until after 7.30 in the morning. As we did not know what we were doing that evening that was not convenient. Staff are very friendly. Shower head is awful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peta R, Front Office Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Hi Colleen

Thank you for your feedback. Indeed parking is limited around Quest Waterfront, however, our reception staff are more than happy to offer alternative solutions to these issues.
You will also be happy to know that we are in the process of replacing our shower heads.

Once again we appreciate your feedback

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    33
    43
    20
    4
See reviews for
23
29
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milawa. Vic Auustralia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

These apartments are ideally located for visits to Salamanca Market, MONA and Hobart CBD.
Our room was small and somewhat congested.
Parking for a 12 seater mini bus was problematic!
Reception was unsuccessful in advising a suitable all day park with 2.3m clearance.
The valet parking service damaged my vehicle but declined any liability on the basis of a damage waiver document previously signed. Estimated repair cost $2500.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peta R, Front Office Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear John

Thank you for your feedback, we at Quest Waterfront appreciate all forms of feedback. As discussed with you at the time, the damage to the van was an unfortunate accident and we did appologise to you profussely for this, however, as mentioned, on check in you did sign the disclaimer.

I am sorry that you thought our efforts of locating a car park that would accommodate the height of your vechile, were unsuccessfu, however, we did spend quite a considerable ammount of time with you researching on the internet and telephoning nearby multi story car parks to establish their height restrictions. Perhaps the lack of car parks without height restriction is something that we need to pass onto our local council

Once again we do thank you for your feedback
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our room was comfortable and easily big enough to cater for all 4 adults. We thought we had booked a 2 room apartment, but it seemed we had a king bed and 2 singles in the one room, but hey, it was a clean apartment and reasonably priced too. Great location, opposite the water and within walking distance to shops and Salamanca markets. Very friendly staff. Will stay here again!

Room Tip: We were told not to get a room opposite the pub as it could be noisy, but it really wasn't too m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed for 10 nights and loved convenience to Salamanca Place and the city. Friendly, courteous and knowledgeable staff, with special mention of Isabelle and Jacinta. Room was spacious, clean and adequately appointed. Spa bath and shower were wonderful and we did not feel the need for washing machines and dryers - we were on a holiday! We would stay at Quest Waterfront on our next trip to Hobart.

Kerry & Don Brooks - Gold Coast

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Innes NSW
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on business. Hotel is easy to find and has convenient (but metered) parking out front. Easy walking distance to all of the tourist oriented restaurants and bars of the Hobart waterfront district and the CBD. Stayed in a conventional hotel room which was relatively roomy, clean and well appointed. Minor disappointments were the shower (hard to adjust for the perfect temp/pressure) and the fact that I couldn't open a window for fresh air. A/C adjustment was limited but bed was just how I liked it - on the firm side
Car parking costs $6 a night, which is very reasonable. For my medium sized rental car, the receptionist offered a valet parking service which suited perfectly as the car was waiting for me out the front when I wanted to leave at 7.30am.
No meals offered on site but the hotel has charge back arrangements with plenty of restaurants within 500m. Can recommend the Harbour Lights cafe and Customs House Hotel.
Hotel offered free wireless internet for business customers, which was very welcome.
Worth looking for the periodic special deals offered by the hotels - usually the same price or cheaper than generic booking sites.

Room Tip: don't expect good views unless you want the penthouse. Opt for the valet car parking if you plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakleigh, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great location but parking is hard, metered parking if Hobart wants to encourage tourism get rid of paid street parking.
The Quest Waterfront is in need of a facelift, kitchen facilities are out of the 1950's (except the microwave) and no diswasher. Washing machine and dryer across the hall you have to pay extra for the pleasure of washing your clothes. None of the windows can be opened and from Wednesday to Saturday nights it would be to noisy to have them open anyway. the plumbing is also noisy, shower over the bath. Stayed for two weeks and survived but not very comfortable. The only redeeming feature of this Quest is the staff who are great.
PS there is no restaurant could not remove the rating

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peta R, Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at Quest Waterfront. We appreciate all feedback and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the property. We are in the process of completing soft refurbishments to the apartments and we will then look at replacing the kitchens etc. We do not claim to have in room laundries only a laundry onsite and kitchenettes not full kitchens so I am sorry if you were mislead in some way. I am glad to hear that the staff attended to your requirements, we strive to always provide quality customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

In Hobart this apartment is lcoated right in front of the water and around the corner from Salamanca Markets.

This apartment is quite small and compact but the convenient location outweighs the negatives.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peta R, Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for the feedback in regards to your stay with us. The Hotel rooms are not a large apartment as some of our other rooms are however they are perfect for somewhere to rest your head after a busy day of exploring all of the amazing attractions that surround our property. We hope that we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Waterfront

Address: 3 Brooke St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Waterfront Serviced Apartments Hobart is located in the very heart of Hobart's Historic Sullivan's Cove, just minutes walk from Hobart's famous Salamanca Place and Hobart's CBD. The property offers a range of Hotel Rooms, Studio Apartments and Family Suites and the service that is expected of a four star hotel. We are just about the closest you can get to experience all the delights of Hobart’s Summer Festival! Including the Taste of Tasmania, New Years Celebrations and Festivities, the annual Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race, The Wooden Boat Festival, and of course Salamanca Markets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quest Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Waterfront Hobart, Tasmania
Quest Waterfront Hotel Hobart

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.