We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False Advertising” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Waterfront to your Saves list
Quest Waterfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Brooke St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“False Advertising”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Room 23 for $156
Its not an apartment it's a hotel room with a microwave
There is a drain somewhere in the walls that drips all night
An old loud creaky lift that wakes you every time folk arrive or leave.
The house phone didnt work, there was a noisy exhaust fan running in the room with no apparent switch so I rang on mobile to see how to turn it off and it took about 5 mins to wind down thankfully.
Ahhhhhhh it's not on the waterfront although it is only a block away and opposite a pub that had the cops attend around 7.00pm to eject noisy patrons.

I'm on a roll so also the towels are small the decor is dated there are worn and damaged fittings in the bathroom the shower is almost impossible to adjust and the TV belongs in a run down public hospital ward.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peta R, Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for the feedback in regards to your stay. We apologise that you did not enjoy your stay. Please note that the room that you booked is a Hotel room it is not an apartment and we do not advertise it as such. We are very sorry that you may have been misled in som eway.

Our location is promoted as being one block back from the waterfront and whilst it does not have water views the location is a great advantage for our property.

We have taken on board your feedback in regards to the shower and have installed new fittings and we have recently engaged a new linen company who provides a far superior quality of linen.

We would like to invite you to return to Quest on a complimentary stay to ensure that you have a far more enjoyable experience.

Please contact us directly to organise this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    40
    48
    23
    5
See reviews for
28
35
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Very nice stay. Thanks to Rochelle @ reception for all her friendly assistance. Very close to all attractions for showing USA visitors around. Will recommend to all! Cheers Toni Davis

Room Tip: Family apartment worked well. However a bit noisey with baby next to hotel across the road. But luck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Firstly the positives:
- Great location: right around the corner from Salamanca, across the road from the wharf
- Good service and attitude from the staff

Unfortunately, I think the Waterfront has some things running against it:
- Rooms seem to be in desperate need of renovation
- There are pillars in the centre of the room (we've stayed twice, and have experienced the same thing) - this means that there is less space to move around and use
- We had a one bedroom apartment, and the bedroom was terribly small, and seemed like a bit of an afterthought.
- Based on what you get, this is terribly overpriced - on a par with central Sydney or Melbourne (of a much higher standard)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

On a recent trip to Tasmania, our friends booked a studio apartment for four people at the Quest Waterfront. By the time we had parked the car my friend had taken one look at our accommodation and was back at reception to enquire if perhaps we'd been given the wrong room. Unlike the description and photo, our overnight accommodation was an ugly, depressing, tired, cramped room with mismatched furniture, an old decrepit TV jammed in a ridiculously small living area, a hideous bathroom, and equally hideous kitchenette. While there was an additional small bedroom containing two single beds, our queen bed was part of the open living area and a huge floor to ceiling column took up even more space. There was a pub (with loud pumping music) across the road, and alas, our room was just above where taxis picked up loud pub patrons in a back lane up until around 4am in the morning. The "triple glazed windows" did nothing to alleviate the noise. The staff could offer us nothing else except perhaps a room at a Quest right across town. As there were four of us and we'd planned to visit Salamanca Markets and dine at Constitution Dock, we decided to suck it up and stay where we were....albeit under sufferance.

On the plus side, staff were friendly and pleasant, parking was cheap, and the location was fantastic - close to Salamanca Markets and Constitution Dock. I, however, would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the pub as possible, and beware the taxis rank in the lane on the wester...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peta R, Front Office Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Annabellequinn,

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback for us, we really do appreciate it. We are regretful and disapointed that on this occassion we have not met your standards.

I am sorry that you were disturbed during the night from the noise from the neighbouring buildings and the street/car noise. We have been working very closely with our "neighbours" to ensure that noise levels are kept to a standard that suits all parties.

We are currently in the process of refirbishing all of our rooms, however, as I am sure you can appreciate it is impossible to have all rooms refirbished at once.

Also a great tip, it is possible, and we do accommodate where possible, rooms requested away from "the pub"

Once again thank you for your feedback
Kind regards
Peta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

When booking this hotel was unsure what we were getting looking at previous reviews we were happily surprised when we arrived at the spacious room they had given us ,we had a sink in our kitchenette,the staff were always helpful ,our room was opposite the hotel and we were there on the Friday and Saturday night when the music was very loud outside but once in our room we found it didn't annoy us and we were able to sleep o.k.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Although not luxurious, the Quest Waterfront is simple but perfectly livable for a short stay, below are some of my impressions:
Pros:
Room was perfectly clean.
Staff at the front desk is really nice and helpful, specially the women.
Since I was on business they gave me complimentary Wi-Fi.
Location is great, close to the city center and Salamanca, but not noisy.
Cons:
The absence of a sink in the kitchenette is annoying, it forces you to use the bathroom sink (small and inconvenient) to clean or fill.
Closet is small and hanging space inconvenient.
The waterfront is actually two blocks away and there is really no view from the (small) windows.
Lock on the door looked unsafe (maybe there are no break-ins in Hobart)

Since I got an internet promotional rate I would say my stay was very good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Last year my husband and I booked a room at the quest savoy for a romantic getaway without the kids. We got a call a few days before and was told a pipe had broken in our room, to they were upgrading us for free to quest waterfront. When we got there we found out or 'upgrade' was for a family room. Wasn't very romantic at all. Our tv was broken, it was pretty grubby and the shower had zero water pressure. Worst shower of my life. The location was great, the bed was comfortable, and staff was friendly. Even though it is on the waterfront, you don't get to really see the water from your room. Overall it was a pretty average experience.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Waterfront

Address: 3 Brooke St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hobart
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Waterfront Serviced Apartments Hobart is located in the very heart of Hobart's Historic Sullivan's Cove, just minutes walk from Hobart's famous Salamanca Place and Hobart's CBD. The property offers a range of Hotel Rooms, Studio Apartments and Family Suites and the service that is expected of a four star hotel. We are just about the closest you can get to experience all the delights of Hobart’s Summer Festival! Including the Taste of Tasmania, New Years Celebrations and Festivities, the annual Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race, The Wooden Boat Festival, and of course Salamanca Markets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Quest Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Waterfront Hobart, Tasmania
Quest Waterfront Hotel Hobart

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.