We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Italian in Hobart!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amici

Amici
310 Elizabeth Street, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 416 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Favourite Italian in Hobart!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a great little restaurant! I have eaten here 4 times and every meal has been excellent. They tick all boxes; great food, excellent service and a warm, inviting atmosphere. It is certainly one of my favourite restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    39
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Townsville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“average australianised italian cuisine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

we were hoping for more after reading the menu but the pasta, while tasty, failed to make the most of ingredients and the antipasto plate seriously skimped on quality with tasteless olives, salami and sundried tomatoes

it was also disappointing to be seated right in a main thoroughfare to the back area with a constant breeze from waitresses swishing past and opening the back door even though the restaurant was only half full . having said that, staff were friendly and attentive and we probably could have asked to be moved

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pretty ordinary Italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great atmosphere and buzz. Service was friendly and attentive. The food was below what I expected. We ordered pizza and risotto. The pizza was not the authentic thin bases with minimal topping and the risotto had a very stock cube tasting flavour. Perhaps we chose the wrong dishes from the menu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly effcent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Avery pleasant meal, the venue is busy and slightly noisy, but the quality of food and the service more than makes up for this

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Have just returned from 3 months in Europe, and this meal was as good, if not better, than any tasted there! I've been to Amici restaurant several times before, so decided to try something different, (even though I think Louie makes the best risotto in Hobart), and was not disappointed. I had the lamb this time and it was succulent and tasty. Have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant. Ps. Had the gnocchi recently - they were great too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amici also viewed

Hobart, Tasmania
Hobart, Tasmania
 
Hobart, Tasmania
Hobart, Tasmania
 

Been to Amici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.